The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Woolley
Record 1 of 2

System Number: 06359
Date: 9 September 1848
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Portishead[2]]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W355
Document Type: ALS

62 Sloane[3]

Saturday afternoon

Sept 9th 1848

My precious Jemie

You are in Mothers thoughts & ever will be. Time only admits of a few words to you now to promise something more interesting next week, as I have a reprieve & instead of bidding adieu to Sloane St next tuesday, am not to go from it until thursday. You will have time & I hope inclination dear boy to write Willie [4] & Mother more than one letter between now & then to comfort us on our long weary voyage. I found a letter from dear [p. 2] father here on my arrival yesterday, it was indeed seasonable for my heart & dear Willie needed cheering. I will give an extract or two from it in my next as it relates much to you dear boy & his anxiety about your improvement in mind & body, but I have sent it by todays mail to Preston knowing Aunt & Uncle W[5] feel interested in all father writes especially about your education & health. Will you thank Mr Phillott[6] with my best respects for his prompt attention to my request about the french & german[.] Seymour[7] has written him today & I will answer his note by Mondays [p. 3] mail. I arose earlier even than usual this morning & having had my Jemie in my night visions & having often awakened offering prayers for him to our watchful Guardian of the night, I thought as soon as toilette & devotions were over to write you some of the thoughts of love with which my heart overflows to you. but cares & business prevented, & now this is only to bless you & beg you to remember to keep the Lords day holy & to entreat you to write me all you wish & all your impressions speedily, for time flies & thursday will surprise us. I cannot express the love Willie bears you, [p. 4] he will write you monday, now he sends you a trifle by way of proving his thoughts with you. offer my[8] regards to Mr P. Aunt A[9] sends love & will write you when your mother is not here to do it. I trust you are well my own Jemie & that you are obedient good boy & a polite member of the family circle. Remember us to your Chums, Morrow[10] & Woolley[11]. Kiss the little girls for your Mother who envies her scrawl.

[p. 4] No 1.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  Portishead
Eldon Villa, JW's boarding school, was located at Portishead.

3.  62 Sloane
62 Sloane Street, London was the home of Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

4.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

5.  Aunt & Uncle W
Eliza Isabella Winstanley (1788-1857), née McNeill, JW's aunt, AMW's half-sister [more], and John Winstanley (1776-1859), solicitor, JW's uncle [more].

6.  Mr Phillott
Phillott, JW's tutor at Portishead [more], also referred to as 'Mr P.'

7.  Seymour
Francis Seymour Haden (1818-1910), surgeon and etcher, JW's brother-in-law [more].

8.  my
'my ... when' continues in the left margin of p. 1; 'your ... own' continues in the right margin of p. 1; 'Jemie ... of' continues in the left margin of p. 2; 'the ... Morrow' continues in the right margin of p. 2; 'Kiss ... scrawl' continues in the right and upper margins of p. 3.

9.  Aunt A
Alicia Margaret Caroline McNeill (1786-1863), JW's aunt [more].

10.  Morrow
Jim Morrah, JW's fellow pupil at Portishead, later a lawyer.

11.  Woolley
Woolley, JW's boyhood friend at Portishead.