The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Jones, Augusta Maria
Record 2 of 4

System Number: 09173
Date: [February 1868/May 1869?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Emelie ('Millie') Jones[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Prof. Toshiyuki Takamiya
Document Type: ALS

2 Lindsey Row -
Chelsea -


Dear Miss Jones -

Enclosed I send 5. 5. 0 - which you ought to have received before now - Pray excuse this delay - I hope this summer to have again the pleasure of working[3] from you -

Yours [truly?]

J A McN Whistler

Please drop[4] a line to say you have safely received the money

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [February 1868/May 1869?]
JW wrote letters addressed from 2 Lindsey Row between February 1868 and the summer of 1876. Thus JW could have written this letter in the Spring of 1868, planning sittings for the summer of 1868. However, it could be that he proposed to continue painting her in the summer of 1869 (see below).

2.  Emelie ('Millie') Jones
The recipient is almost certainly Emelie ('Milly') Eyre Jones (b. ca 1851), model, later wife of F. H. Robson [more], although it could possibly be Augusta Maria Jones (fl. 1865), artist's model [more] (see #09169).

3.  working
Millie Jones had posed for several important works, including La Princesse du pays de la porcelaine (YMSM 50), The Scarf (YMSM 59), Symphony in White, No. 3 (YMSM 61), Whistler in his Studio (YMSM 63) and The Three Girls (YMSM 88). Several of these were reworked with her as model in 1868. For instance, JW was at work on The Six Projects (YMSM 82-7), which was seen by Algernon Charles Swinburne (1837-1909), poet and critic [more], during the spring of 1868 (Swinburne, Algernon Charles, 'Notes on Some Pictures of 1868' in Essays and Studies, London, 1875, [pp 373-74], pp. 373-74). Mrs Perine saw her posing for The Three Girls on 20 June 1868 (#12493). Furthermore, Symphony in White, No. 3 was reworked in Frederick Jameson's studio, probably early in 1869 (see JW to Jones, [13 February 1869], #09169). She may also have posed for nude studies such as r.: Study of a seated nude for 'Variations in Blue and Green'; v.: Two seated nudes (M.348).

4.  Please drop ... money
Written at foot of page and in right-hand margin.