The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Jones, Augusta Maria
Record 4 of 4

System Number: 09169
Date: [13 February 1869][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Emilie Jones[2]
Place: London
Repository: Prof. Toshiyuki Takamiya
Document Type: ALS

62 Great Russell St.[3]


My dear Miss Jones -

Forgive my sending this so late at night - but I am unable to work from you tomorrow and would like to put off our sittings[4] until the Sunday and Monday fortnight. that is: the 28. of Feb. and 1st of March - - This notice comes upon you suddenly and of course I am responsible for your time tomorrow and the day after -

Yours very truly

J. A. McN.Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [13 February 1869]
Dated from dates and days of week mentioned in letter.

2.  Emilie Jones
The recipient was probably Emelie ('Milly') Eyre Jones (b. ca 1851), model, later wife of F. H. Robson [more], but could possibly have been her sister, Augusta Maria Jones (fl. 1865), artist's model [more].

3.  62 Great Russell St.
The studio of JW's friends Frederick Jameson (1839-1916), architect and musician [more], and Arthur Murch (fl. 1850-1877, d. before 1891), artist [more]. Murch shared a studio with Jameson from ca 1866-68. According to Jameson, JW shared his studio for a while when Murch was obliged to leave London for health reasons, probably 'after October 1868' (see Merrill, Linda, The Peacock Room. A Cultural Biography, New Haven and London, 1998, pp. 97-8 and p. 360, n. 71). JW's mother mentioned him as working there by mid-December 1868 (see A. M. Whistler to M. Hill, 14 December 1868, #11473).

4.  sittings
JW may have been working in the studio on The Three Girls (YMSM 88). JW's mother refers to him working on a picture which is likely to have been The Three Girls (YMSM 88) (A. M. Whistler to F. R. Leyland, 11 March [1869], #08182).