The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Cassatt, Alexander Johnston
Record 5 of 6

System Number: 09134
Date: [June 1887?][1]
Author: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: William Andrews Clark Memorial Library, University of California, Los Angeles, CA
Call Number: Wilde W576L U58 [18?]
Document Type: ALd

Dear President,

You had hardly been gone three minutes when Lady Archibald[3] called, and I saw her and spoke to her and she said that she was not certain if she could come on Sunday next to breakfast but she would let you know. She said that she would write but I have not received her letter at the time I am writing 4 oclock


Two letters one from Capt Robertson[4] which I enclose and one from Mrs Doctor Whistler[5] which I also enclose

I took the letter to [M Joachin?] and then went [some?] down to Sarasate[6] and saw Mr Goldschmidt[7] and after giving him your message to breakfast next Sunday he said ———

I then went to Capt Robertson and left a note for him saying that you were in Paris but would be back about the middle or end of the week.

I then went to the doctors and saw Mrs Whistler and the doctor[8] I gave Mrs Whistler your note and she read it to a [gentlmn?] a Mr [Carsate [9]] (?) I could not catch his name [to] whom she introduced me [p. 2] he it appears from what I could gather is [illegible] to get up a concert[,] the doctor has been ill during the week and he is now better


I do not know if you gave William[10] a holiday but he did not come yesterday (Sunday) or today.

I tried to feed the cats this morning but they vanished and I could see them no more.

Only your letter came this morning

I went to Mrs Godwin[11] but she had nothing for me to do so I came away.

[illegible words] him and gave him your message and he said he would write.

I then went to Mr Fabbrucci[12]

I then [wrote?] Nicols[13] and [illegible] the wine and change the [illegible] cheque you gave as it was not [illegible] today is a bank's [holiday?]

[illegible words] at the [show one?] [illegible words] [do me one?] there [enough?] to say see [gone to say?] or [illegible words] will write tonight or tomorrow [saw good on?]

[p. 3] I feel sad, Mr [illegible] wants me to [illegible] there, or on the river today But I had to say that I had such a crowd of work so that there is [improvement?] [...]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1887]
Dated by the reference to JW as 'President' (JW took office as President of the Society of British Artists in December 1886), and to Paris, where JW stayed at some time about June 1887.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more]. He acted as JW's secretary when on holiday. His writing is very difficult to read in this letter.

3.  Lady Archibald
Janey Sevilla Campbell (ca 1846 - d.1923), née Callander, Lady Archibald Campbell [more].

4.  Capt Robertson
Captain Charles Gray Robertson, soldier, 8th (King's) Regiment [more].

5.  Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Sarasate
Pablo de Sarasate y Navascues (1844-1908), violinist [more].

7.  Mr Goldschmidt
Otto Goldschmidt (1829-1907), pianist, conductor, composer and impresario [more].

8.  the doctor
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

9.  Carsate
Just possibly Alexander Johnston Cassatt (1839-1906), engineer, collector [more].

10.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

11.  Mrs Godwin
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

12.  Fabbrucci
Aristide Luigi Fabbrucci (b. ca 1859), sculptor, JW's landlord at 454 Fulham Road [more].

13.  Nicols
D. Nicols, wine merchant; he had shops at at 68 Regent Street, W., 15, 17 and 19 Glasshouse Street, W., and 8 and 10 Air Street, W.