The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Buck, J. H.
Record 4 of 8

System Number: 08838
Date: [21 August 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: [France]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/44/3
Document Type: ALS

I cannot tell you how angry all this interference has made me! - What could possess you to take upon yourself to order this or that - ! You ought to know even if you had not been told expressly that Miss Philip[3] is the one to go to in our absence for all orders - In all matters she is the only one to give orders and from whom you would receive your directions -

Now this settles the matter! - and you will not move into Tower House[4] at all -

Miss Philip will see to the place until [p. 2] our return - and meanwhile if you cannot stay any longer in Selwood Terrace, you will take some little room close by and pay for it as you paid your Mommie -

It is intolerable and absurd that there should have been all this wandering about and indiscreet meddling which however well meant for your sake is quite unasked for and inexusable -

As to the Vale[5], let the young men[6] call upon George Lewis[7] or be referred to him through Rid[e]out[8] -

As to putting the place in repair, I see no reason for any thing of the kind - and certainly do not propose to become entangled in builders expenses - The House is in repair - if there be any thing really necessary, I must know what is required - certainly I do not propose that you should go about giving orders at your own indiscreet discretion -

Tell Mr. Webb[9] the builder who works for me to look over the place and see what is absolutely necessary for the letting of the house - (perhaps the roof, and the front?) and let me have an estimate - and then I will see - Meanwhile the gentlemen must satisfy Mr Lewis that it is all right -

Keep back the letters until further orders -

J McN. Whistler

Tell William[10] that he had better prepare for the visit of the American from Mr. Buck[11] - and that he had better put by the very best proofs of the rare proofs - (such as "The Barrow[12]" - the "Chelsea bird cages[13]" etc. etc) so that they be not chosen by the buyer [p. 3] about whom I know nothing - and for whom one proof is as good as another -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [21 August 1888]
See #08830 and another letter to C. J. W. Hanson, #08118.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Miss Philip
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

4.  Tower House
Tower House, No. 28 (now) Tite Street, Chelsea, designed by Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more]. The Whistlers moved there in 1888, after their marriage.

5.  Vale
No. 2, The Vale, Kings Road, Chelsea, by Paulton Square, called 'The Pink Palace' by JW. Mary Maud Franklin (1857- ca 1941), JW's model and mistress [more], lived here with JW from 1885-1888.

6.  young men
Charles Hazlewood Shannon (1863-1937), painter and lithographer [more], and Charles de Sousy Ricketts (1866-1931), painter and designer [more], rented The Vale from 1888, and there established the Vale Press.

7.  George Lewis
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

8.  Rid[e]out
Rideout, London estate agent.

9.  Mr. Webb
Philip Speakman Webb (1831-1915), architect and designer [more].

10.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

11.  Mr. Buck
Buck, possibly a collector or an agent for a collector, or J. H. Buck, employee of the Goupil Gallery, London.

12.  The Barrow
The Barrow, Brussels (K.357).

13.  Chelsea bird cages
Bird-Cages, Chelsea (K.276).