The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Western, Robert Reginald
Record 13 of 13

System Number: 08773
Date: [26 April 1879][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Lawson James McCreary[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 4/49
Document Type: ALS

'Recd[3] 26 April 1879'
'Whistler 25 April 1879'


Mr. Lawson

Dear Sir -

Your letter[5] was forwarded to me by my brother[6] who told me that he had telegraphed to you the fact of my having gone to Paris and also had sent you my address here - I therefor [sic] suppose that were my presence absolutely necessary you would have written and I should have been recalled by you this morning - Recieving [sic] on the contrary no letter from you I remain until Sunday night and shall be in London again on Monday morning and at your office at 10 or 11 - A. M. -

Now what absurdity can this all be! - How can the Sheriff[7] put up bills for sale when you are in possession

In any case what can he do? when you have already the overture of a private sale - and cover about £500 of the property -

At any rate you have the pull and can object to any [p. 2] proceeding you do not sanction - and you must remember that I only wait Mr. Rose[8]'s return to complete matters and liquidate - It will be very bad fighting on your part if you can possibly allow Morrison[9] or other to come in when you are already there and have the first right - Your own wit and knowledge will tell you that the Sheriff is at your orders - and he cannot sell while you are in - . If necessary telegraph reply - Otherwise write to me - for after all I could only get to town in answer to your telegram in time for Sunday when nothing can be done - and I may as well take things calmly here as I am doing - You know that my Grosvenor[10] pictures are safely in the Gallery and that therefor [sic] my reputation is safe! and superb - for the rest pray send Weston[11] to my House the first thing that he may tell my man [p. 3] any thing you may think he ought to do - or take

I will write by this same post to him telling him to call on you tomorrow - These letters may not be delivered until 12 noon - so please do not leave the office until evening -

Yours faithfully

J A McN. Whistler

21. Rue de l'Arc de Triomphe[12]
Barriere de l'Etoile -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [26 April 1879]
Date received.

2.  Lawson James McCreary
Although JW addresses him as Lawson, this is probably Lawson James McCreary, clerk to the solicitor, J. A. Rose [more].

3.  Recd
'Recd ... 1879' is written in another hand at top right, and 'Whistler ... 1879' at right angles up the top left side, also in another hand.

4.  46
Written in another hand in a circle. Legal and bankruptcy documents kept by James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more], were numbered.

5.  letter
Not located.

6.  my brother
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]. His telegram is dated 24 April (#08914).

7.  Sheriff
The Sheriff could sell property to settle unpaid bills, when authorised by the Court. This was why JW's lawyer had launched a prior claim against JW.

8.  Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

9.  Morrison
Hargrave Morrison (b. 1817), oil and colour merchant [more]. He was among JW's creditors as listed by the London Bankruptcy Court on 7 May 1879 (#11711).

10.  Grosvenor
3rd Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1879. JW's exhibits included Harmony in Yellow and Gold: The Gold Girl - Connie Gilchrist (YMSM 190) and Arrangement in Brown and Black: Portrait of Miss Rosa Corder (YMSM 203).

11.  Weston
Robert Reginald Western (b. 1843), legal clerk to James Anderson Rose [more].

12.  21. Rue de l'Arc de Triomphe
The address of George Aloysius Lucas (1824-1909), art dealer in Paris [more].