The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Wyke, Charles
Record 2 of 4

System Number: 08354
Date: [25 March 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 3
Document Type: ALS[3]

33. Rue du Tournon - Paris -

Dear Sir -

Many thanks for letters[4] -

Reveillon[5] - Proposed price perfectly absurd - I have a notion who is impudent enough to offer it - Send me details - In these matters you must be entirely with me -

I shall write to Mme. Reveillon, and mean time you must say to purchaser that his proposal wouldn't be listened to - That the price is more like a thousand guineas - Who is the man? Is it Seymour Haden[6]? - You see it would be ruinous that such prices should get about - in the midst of the ones I am asking myself - Moreover the only interest the Goupil House can have is in the good prices of Whistler works - not in the selling, for small sums, a picture or two, from one owner to another! -

Coronio[7] - Same argument - Advise Mrs. Coronio to ask 600. guineas - and not to be in any hurry, as these things can only go up -

[p. 2] Catalogues - Certainly pay Messrs. Way[8] now if he wishes - and order more as you think require them - This next batch to have Third Edition on back cover, under Goupil Gallery. - of course in same type -

Friday - Am much interested in this five shilling day! -

"Mr Jones R. A.[9]" How came you to find him of a "biger [sic] mind" now than when he was on his evidence? -

Academicians. Who are they that have been?

Portraits - Quite right - dont be in any undue haste about anything -

Letters - Write me everything, without fear of annoying, that "Carlyle's[10] Majority" say! - It amuses me -

Joyant[11]. He will, I think go over - I have told them of the great success - and in fact I could not exaggerate in speaking of the completeness of its character! -

Season Ticket - Send one with my compliments, to Sir Charles Wyke[12]. K. C. B. 23. Cheyne Walk - Chelsea.

In great haste, Very truly

J. McN. Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


D. C. Thomson. Esq.
The Goupil Gallery.
116. 117 New Bond Street
London -
[postmarks x 3:] PARIS 6 / R. DE VAUGIRARD / 7E 25 / MARS / 92
[postmark on verso:] LONDON W / 10 / MR 26 / 92

Send me Gerald Potter's[13] addess -


1.  25 March 1892
Dated from the postmark.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more]. He had organised JW's exhibition, Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892.

3.  ALS
'18' is written in another hand on p. 1 and on the envelope.

4.  letters
See #05706, #05707.

5.  Reveillon
Julia de Kay Revillon (1855-1930), née Whistler, JW's niece [more], who wished to sell Harmony in Green and Rose: The Music Room (YMSM 34). See her telegrams, #05175 and #05176. Thomson apparently had been offered up to £450 for the picture (see #05706), a price far below JW's ideal.

6.  Seymour Haden
Francis Seymour Haden (1818-1910), surgeon and etcher, JW's brother-in-law [more].

7.  Coronio
Aglaia Coronio (1834-1906), née Ionides, wife of George Coronio [more].

8.  Messrs. Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

9.  Mr Jones R. A.
Edward Coley Burne-Jones (1833-1898), painter and designer [more]. He had testified against JW in the Whistler v Ruskin trial.

10.  Carlyle's
Thomas Carlyle (1795-1881), historian and philosopher [more]. The 'majority' are the people in general.

11.  Joyant
Maurice Joyant (1864-1930), art dealer, manager of Boussod, Valadon et Cie [more], who was considering repeating the exhibition in Paris.

12.  Sir Charles Wyke
Sir Charles Lennox Wyke (1815-1897), KCB, diplomat [more].

13.  Gerald Potter's
John Gerald Potter (1829-1908), wallpaper manufacturer and patron [more]. See JW's letter to Potter, #01488.