The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Marlborough, Duke of
Record 4 of 15

System Number: 08339
Date: [1 April 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 3
Document Type: ALS[3]

33. Rue de Tournon.


Dear Sir -

Way[4]. I wired and received reply that he had delivered the whole Edition[5] - Also had your telegram - & this morning received the six new copies - very nice.

Letter[6]. Many thanks - very interesting - Things go on capitally -

The World[7]. If I fight no more it is because the battle is won - The hatchet is buried, if you like, but "in the enemys ribs" as I said - He has no more to do but to die - No further heed will be taken of his cries - The game is up - Rien ne va plus[8]! -

Catalogues. I am sure that you think with me that I ought to have my clear shilling for every copy [p. 2] sold in the Galleries - In this I have done all the work and do not cost the "House" anything - for the handing of the pamphlets is a feature in the business part of the Exhibition - and adds as you know to its attraction - As you yourself admit, were the Catalogue suddenly to cease there would be disaster -

Besides why each of us his own sport - you all the gate money - and me the Catalogue which has so greatly added to your turnstile shillings - Isn't that absolutely fair? Now the packages of the Catalogues that you sell outside to the trade, & this I certainly think you ought to manage well - surely you ought to get off some to Scotland - & especially [p. 3] (2.) to America - all this would very properly be set down with your discount off - as agreed - -

Business. I have had an idea - I think that we might, and indeed ought to bring out a beautiful book[9] - All the pictures photographed - This in any case I wish you to have done - Dont write a line to any of the owners, The copyright is mine of course - except in the case of the Graves' three portraits - But all that we can square afterwards[.] The thing to do now is to photograph beautifully the works while we have them - Also dont trouble about sending over to Paris for the Goupil process[10] - Get someone in London - and photograph the paintings - indeed I think I prefer that to the Photogravure - it is more artistic - Well - then the text is all ready - Dont you see. the Catalogue[11]!!- Opposite [p. 4] each painting the extracts that I have already collected! - Perfect! That is the real Whistler Album if you like! and moreover the only text I could tolerate - for I will not have myself presented by any one - or excused - or explained - The whole thing is perfect - and what a lovely volume - bound as a few of the Gentle Art[12] were bound - you have never seen them, but I will send you one to look at - in my brown paper with gold letters - but far more beautiful than even the large edition that you had on your table - Now this would be a success - especially in America - All detail we can arrange - But begin with the best photographer -

Important[13] Mrs Whistler and her sister[14] are going over to London to-morrow night - to stay only for a day - on purpose to see your Exhibition - and yourself if [p. 5] (3.) your other engagements will allow you to meet them in the Galleries on Sunday - I cannot accompany them myself - However do not let this interfere with whatever engagements you may have made for your day in the country or elsewhere, but kindly, without trespassing even upon Mr. Marchant's[15] holiday, give orders that some one shall expect the ladies in the Galleries at 3. o'clock on Sunday afternoon - so that the door may be guarded and opened as it was for me before when the Duke[16] came - (by the way have you seen him since?) - Of course it would be very nice if you were disengaged yourself - but we beg that this do not in any way trouble you - For then Mrs Whistler will come again on Monday morning and have a long [p. 6] talk with you about all matters in your little front room - But the galleries she will not care to seriously visit when the people are there -

Kindly wire tomorrow morning that this is all right - All the Album business you can talk over -

People - The people you tell me are asking when I am likely to return - Do you see in this any desire for portraits? - etc . . etc -

Do they at all nible at Gallery pictures? like the Brodequin Jaune[17]? - How about America?

Very faithfully

J McN Whistler.

Write me tomorrow that I may get a letter on Sunday -

This document is protected by copyright.


D. C. Thomson. Esq.
Goupil Galleries
116. 117. New Bond St.
[postmarks x 3:] PARIS - 6 R. DE VAUGIRARD / E1 / 1 / AVRIL / 92
[postmark on verso:] LONDON / 7 V / AP 2 / 92


1.  [1 April 1892]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'22B' was written at the top of p. 1 in red ink, and at the top of the envelope, in an unknown hand.

4.  Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more]. See JW's letter of 2 April 1892, #03285.

5.  Edition
The catalogue of Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892.

6.  Letter

7.  The World
JW had recently published a letter in the World: Whistler, James McNeill, [Letter to Atlas], The World: A Journal For Men and Women, no. 926, vol. 36, 30 March 1892, p. 22; see #11430.

8.  Rien ne va plus
Fr., It's all over.

9.  book
An album of photographs was eventually published, showing a selection of oils from the show, but with no text.

10.  Goupil process
He appears to mean some sort of reproductive process such as photogravure.

11.  Catalogue
Double underlined.

12.  Gentle Art
Whistler, James McNeill, The Gentle Art of Making Enemies, London and New York, 1890.

13.  Important
Double underlined.

14.  Mrs Whistler and her sister
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], and Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

15.  Marchant's
William Stephen Marchant (1868-1925), art dealer [more].

16.  Duke
George Charles Spencer-Churchill (1844-1892), 8th Duke of Marlborough [more]. Portraits of the Duke and Duchess were planned but were never painted.

17.  Brodequin Jaune
Arrangement in Black: La Dame au brodequin jaune - Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 242).