The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, William
Record 9 of 16

System Number: 08295
Date: [29 September 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: AWS[3]

110. Rue du Bac.

Friday 3.30 - o'clock

Dear Mr. Thomson -

I don't quite make out from your note whether you had mine this morning? - I sent it early to the Grand Hotel - and told you in it that I am kept in the house by a cold - In any case however we could not have, this time, accepted your very kind invitation to dinner, as we have my Brother the Doctor[4] & his wife[5] staying with us.

Of course I will take you with pleasure to this studio tomorrow - Come here and breakfast at 12 and [we] will go afterwards together -

If you are very busy we will wait for you -

A demain donc[6] -

J McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


[telegraph form:] TELEGRAMME
M.[7] D. C. Thomson. Esq
Grand Hotel
Maison Goupil
24. Boulevard des Capucines -
[postmark:] PARIS 80 / RUE DU BAC / 29 SEPT 94


1.  [29 September 1894]
Dated from postmark.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  AWS
'67B' is written in an unknown hand in red ink at top left; '[121?]' in pencil at bottom right of p. 1.

4.  my Brother the Doctor
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

5.  his wife
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  A demain donc
Fr., until tomorrow.

7.  M.
Printed typeface.