The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Lawless, Frederick
Record 3 of 8

System Number: 08110
Date: [November/December 1884][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: William Booth Pearsall[2]
Place: [Dublin]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/40/3
Document Type: ALS

13. Tite Street. Chelsea.

Dear Mr. Pearsall -

I am delighted with the articles[3] and charmed with the warmth of your sympathy - Please send me any cuttings from the papers. - adverse or other -

You do not say whether you received my last letter[4] - concerning your proposal to lecture -

Tell Lawless[5] with my kindest wishes that I shall write to him - mean while beg him to say nothing about the possible lectures -

In great haste,
Very sincerely[6] Yrs

J. McNeill Whistler

Most certainly[7] I shall be greatly pleased if you photograph the work and please do send me a proof at once!

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [November/December 1884]
Dated by reference to Annual Exhibition of Sketches, Pictures, and Photography, Dublin Sketching Club, Leinster Hall, Dublin, 1884.

2.  William Booth Pearsall
William Booth Pearsall (1845-1913), dentist, Dublin exhibition organiser [more].

3.  the articles
Newspaper cuttings, unidentified.

4.  my last letter
JW's letter is #08106.

5.  Lawless
Hon. Frederick Lawless (1847-1929), sculptor [more].

6.  Very sincerely [...] Whistler
Written at right angles to the main text up the right margin.

7.  Most certainly [...] at once!
Written at right angles to the main text down the left margin.