The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Ludovici, Albert, Jr
Record 3 of 85

System Number: 08078
Date: [November/December 1884][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Albert Ludovici[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/18/12
Document Type: ALS


Mon cher -

Come round and see me here - now. This afternoon -

I have been catching cold and so, as you know, came at once to the Doctors[3]! c'est son affaire[4]! [p. 2] and I must not loose [sic] the occasion of seeing you -

Ma belle soeur[5] will give you some tea, and we will talk over, "ces autres" in Suffolk Street[6]! -


[butterfly signature]

Come back[7] in the cab - for it is too late to do any more work -

'Nov. or dec.[8] 1884 - it was then he said about 'Orrock[9] - dropping his own H.'

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [November/December 1884]
Dated in another hand.

2.  Albert Ludovici
Albert Ludovici, Sr (1820-1894), genre painter [more].

3.  the Doctors
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more], who lived at 28 Wimpole Street.

4.  c'est son affaire
Fr., it is his affair.

5.  Ma belle soeur
Fr., My sister-in-law, Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  ces autres in Suffolk Street
Fr., these others. He means their fellow members of the Society of British Artists, whose galleries were in Suffolk Street, Pall Mall, London.

7.  Come back ... work.
Written diagonally at the top of the note-card, p. 2.

8.  Nov. or dec. ... H.
Written below the butterfly signature in another hand.

9.  'Orrock
Possibly James Orrock (1829-1913), dentist, artist and collector [more].