UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Bell, William
Record 15 of 62

System Number: 08008
Date: [14 June 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/43/1
Document Type: ALS


It is too provoking that you should not have written - How do I know who is coming to breakfast on Sunday! How do I know anything about what is going on -

If you could send the St. James' Gazette, surely you could have sent a report of your own! -

Tell Lizzie[3] that I have begged Mrs Godwin[4] to come and consult with her about the Sunday breakfast as I shall not be back until evening - in time for dinner - for which as I said soup and leg of lamb, or small shoulder - whichever Lizzie finds nicest, with some little sweet - tart or pudding - etc -

I enclose cheque for Three pounds, in case money be [p. 2] wanted in the house -

William[5] is to go [to] Mr Roussel[6] and beg him to come to dinner at 8 - therefore to be there before -

Also you must write for me to Mr Macnab[7] a note saying that I am in Paris but that you are directed to beg him to come and dine with me on Monday the 18th June (next monday) at 8 o'clock -

The same to Mrs R[8]

Tell John[9] that I hope every thing will be very nice for my return -

J McN Whistler -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Charles J. Hanson - Esq
care of Mr Whistler -
Tower House -
Tite Street -
Chelsea
London -
Angleterre -

[stamp:] POSTE / 40 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
[postmark:] PARIS DÉPART / [2  14?] / JUIN / 88


Notes:

1.  [14 June 1888]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Lizzie
Elizabeth (Lizzie) Simkin, a servant, possibly a cook.

4.  Mrs Godwin
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

5.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

6.  Mr Roussel
Théodore Roussel (1847-1926), painter and print-maker [more].

7.  Mr Macnab
Peter Macnab (d. 1900), landscape and rustic genre painter [more]. See JW's letter to him, #04239..

8.  Mrs R
Perhaps Frances A. Roussel (b. ca 1845), wife of the painter [more].

9.  John
A servant.