The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Ford, Mary Bacon
Record 16 of 49

System Number: 07993
Date: [14/22 September 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: Tours
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/43/15
Document Type: ALS

I expected that your letter this morning would have acknowledged mine[3] that you should have received yesterday - in which by the way I told you to tell Mr Roussel[4] to write me a full description of the evening at the Suffolk St. Meeting - I hope my letter is not lost, for I directed it to 9 Selwood Terrace - and there may be more there. I told you also to give me your address in the Kings Road -

I enclose letter from May[5]. Look up all his bills - see exactly the details, and I will pay him what was owing with the exception of the cost of a writ he took [p. 2] out against me and law costs - etc -

Only the items of his bill for work actually (still due) will I pay - and if he holds forth about it saying that it was very good of him to stop proceeding, you will say that I never ask him to take any - that I considered it highly improper in him to do so - and certainly shall not pay for them -

Also bill from Mme Nathalie[6] - Sloane Street - Go there - say that you have opened it in my absence and that directly I return, you will lay it before me and that it will be immediately attended to - say this doubtless it was not noticed in the many matters of my departure and that we have been away for more than a month -

Tell Mr Shannon[7] that I will sign and send him the Agreement directly I get back to Paris - there happens to be no Englishman in Tours who could witness it - I mean I know no one -

If you have had my letter you will have been to George Lewis[8], and doubtless tomorrow I shall hear what he thinks of my letter to the Fords[9] - I have an idea that it is pretty good! -

I am sorry to hear about your ear - and hope it is better - Have you seen Doctor Whistler[10] about it? -

Dont forget to have my letters before you when you write to see that you omit nothing in your answer - The World of last [p. 3] week[11] has not come - The colours from William[12] have not yet arrived -

Can think of nothing more now


J McN Whistler

Call on Walter Dowdeswell[13] and ask him to give you the copy of the Ten O'clock[14] bound in yellow leather I one day left in his charge. Put it carefully away in the Tower House -

14 Rue de la Scellerie
à Tours

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [14/22 September 1888?]
Dated from address, and reference to the Fords (see below).

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  mine
Neither letter has been located.

4.  Roussel
Theodore Roussel (1847-1926), painter and print-maker [more]. He did report on the Royal Society of British Artists (see #12805).

5.  May
Probably Charles Mitchell May, carver and gilder, at 19 St Anne's Court, Soho [more].

6.  Mme Nathalie
Mme Leah Nathalie (b. ca 1821), fan maker [more].

7.  Shannon
Probably Charles Hazlewood Shannon (1863-1937), painter and lithographer [more] who, with Charles de Sousy Ricketts (1866-1931), painter and designer [more], took over the lease from JW on No. 2, The Vale (near the King's Road), during the summer of 1888.

8.  George Lewis
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

9.  letter to the Fords
Sheridan Ford (1860-1922), poet, critic, politician and writer on art [more] and his wife Mary Bacon Ford hoped to become JW's art agent in America. From an original proposal that JW should do a series of twenty etched plates of Spain for the American magazine the Art Age, the Fords went on to draw up a document contracting JW to them and a syndicate of investors in New York to produce etchings to be entitled 'Whistler's American Etchings' It required him not only to work on the plates in America but to undertake other commissions and lecture on art during his trip (see M. B. Ford to JW, #01448, letter dated 27 September 1888). See also JW's correspondence with the Fords during this period (see #01449; 01451; #01443; #01449). Alarmed by the document, JW consulted his lawyer George Lewis while refusing, in the meantime, to commit himself (M. B. Ford to Lewis, 16 September 1888, #01444).

10.  Doctor Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

11.  The World of last [p. 3] week
Not identified.

12.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

13.  Walter Dowdeswell
Walter Dowdeswell (1858-1929), art dealer [more].

14.  Ten O'clock
Whistler, James McNeill, Mr. Whistler's 'Ten O'clock', London, 1886.