The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Deschamps, Charles William
Record 16 of 54

System Number: 07921
Date: [June 1878?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Charles William Deschamps[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/24/2
Document Type: ALS

Dear Deschamps -

Now it is really too nice in you and I dont know how to thank you for your consideration for I am simply too bad and useless for anything - I think I had better go in altogether with the great American Eagle[3] this time, and so if you can give me any tip about it do - or I daresay you will [p. 2] be able to tell me how the Whole thing should be brought about at the right time -

Come down some Sunday if you can -

Ever Yours sincerely

J. A McN. Whistler

96[4] Cheyne Walk -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [June 1878?]
Dated by address, and reference to exhibition (see below). Letters written as from 96 Cheyne Walk date from September 1876 to June 1878. In July 1878 JW moved into the White House.

2.  Charles William Deschamps
Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

3.  American Eagle
JW had exhibited in the U. S. section of the Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1867, but eventually exhibited in the British section of Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1878.

4.  96
Number triple underlined.