UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Document associated with: Creighs
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 07918
Date: 10 August 1891
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Charles William Deschamps[1]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/23/13
Document Type: ALS


'3'[2]

21, CHEYNE WALK,
CHELSEA.

Aug. 10. 1891.

Mon cher ami -

You must forgive my not answering your letter before - We[3] have been out of town, and I have been very busy - and not too well -

We have thought the matter out, and I find that it would never do for me to involve myself in such an expensive undertaking as Mr Creighs[4] estimate would make it -

Therefore please thank him for the trouble he has so kindly taken in considering the [p. 2] matter, and tell him that I must give it up - with regret -

I am off to Liverpool - on the hanging Committee[5]! -

When I get back you must come round and see me -

Toujours

Jas McN Whistler -

P. S. Please give bearer the drawings[6] that were sent to you -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Charles Deschamps Esq.
The Art Workshops. (Limited)
58.A Brompton Road
S W.


Notes:

1.  Charles William Deschamps
Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

2.  '3'
Written at the top in another hand.

3.  We
JW and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

4.  Mr Creighs
Creighs, unidentified.

5.  Committee
For 21st Autumn Exhibition of Pictures, Corporation of Liverpool, Walker Art Gallery, Liverpool, 1891.

6.  drawings
Not identified.