The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Deschamps, Charles William
Record 2 of 54

System Number: 07917
Date: [October/December 1872][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: [Charles William Deschamps?][2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/24/5
Document Type: ALS

2 Lindsey Houses.
Chelsea -

Dear Sir -

I should like much to see you but find myself so very busy every day that it is impossible for me to get out in time - while also by the time my work is over it is too dark for you to see any thing here -

However if you could come here on Sunday morning I have some things to show you[3] and also the preparations for the Paris affair[4] - Will you breakfast with me at 10.30 - or 11? - [p. 2]

Yours truly

J. A. McN. Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [October/December 1872]
Dated from address and possible reference to Paris exhibition (see note below).

2.  [Charles William Deschamps?]
The recipient may be Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

3.  show you
Perhaps a reference to works he was intending to show at Deschamps' gallery at 168 New Bond Street. The 5th Exhibition, Society of French Artists, London, 1872 opened on 4 November. The works included Symphony in Grey: Early Morning, Thames (YMSM 98) and Arrangement in Grey: Portrait of the Painter (YMSM 122), under the titles 'Harmony in Grey' and 'Arrangement in grey and black No 2 - a Portrait' (cat. nos. 122, 130).

4.  Paris affair
Possibly a reference to an exhibition at Galerie Durand-Ruel, Paris, which opened in January 1873. JW's works included Arrangement in Grey: Portrait of the Painter (YMSM 122) and views of the Thames (see [Views of the Thames] (YMSM 138)).