The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Document associated with: Brewer (fl. 1888)
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 07914
Date: [9 March 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Charles William Deschamps[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/23/10
Document Type: ALS



Dear Deschamp -

Here are the two addresses -

Mrs & Miss Elder[4] -
19. West 48 Street.
New York -
Mrs Brewer[5] - Boston

Well known old Lady in the art world! You would be able to find [her] [p. 2] and others through my friend Mr D. Jerome Ellwell[6] - who's [sic] address is some large Studio Buildings Tremont St. Boston - but whom in any case you will find through
Messrs Williams & Everett[7] - Publishers
508. Washington St. {like Goupil[8]}
Boston -

Ellwell will be charmed to show you every attention as a friend of mine -

I will send back your sea piece[9] in a day or two - have no anxiety about it -

With kindest regards and best wishes for a bon voyage and safe return
Always sincerely Yours

J. McNeill Whistler.

You may battre[10] un peu le grosse cuisse for me while you are over there! and any little game you see to play à[11] [p. 3] mon intention you may use your own discretion in playing - By the way you had better call on S. P. Avery[12] - great art Publisher in New York - where you can use my name - Also - at Scribners Magazine you will find Mr Drake[13] - the art manager - quite a charming fellow - I knew him in Venice - and he would be most useful - Also in New York find out young Blüm - Robert Blüm[14] - a delightful chap - one of my chums in Venice [-] give him all sorts of messages from me - Drake will tell you of his whereabouts -

Adieu -

This document is protected by copyright.



Charles Deschamps Esq.
Grosvenor Gallery[16] -
New Bond Street -
[postmark:] LONDON W. C. / C. X / 8 11 / MAR 9 / 88


1.  [9 March 1888]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Charles William Deschamps
Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

3.  '2'
Added in another hand.

4.  Mrs & Miss Elder
JW mean Mrs Havemeyer, who married Henry Havemeyer in 1883 (Louisine Waldron Elder (1855-1929), later Mrs H. O. Havemeyer, collector [more]); and Miss Elder, probably a relation of Mrs H. O. Havemeyer.

5.  Mrs Brewer
Brewer, unidentified.

6.  Mr D. Jerome Ellwell
D. Jerome Elwell (1847-1912), landscape and marine painter [more].

7.  Messrs Williams & Everett
The firm also ran an art gallery.

8.  Goupil
The Goupil Gallery was the London branch of a Paris firm of art dealers. It was located at 116 & 117, New Bond Street.

9.  sea piece
Possibly Trouville (YMSM 70). Christina Deschamps (b. ca 1848), wife of the art dealer, C. W. Deschamps [more] had owned the picture since c. 1873.

10.  battre ... cuisse
Fr., idiomatically, 'to bang the drum' (to promote JW's interests).

11.  à mon intention
Fr., for my sake.

12.  S. P. Avery
Samuel Putnam Avery (1822-1904), print-publisher, collector and philanthropist [more].

13.  Mr Drake
Drake, an acquaintance of AMW.

14.  Robert Blüm
Robert Frederick Blum (1857-1903), artist [more].

15.  Private
Triple underlined.

16.  Grosvenor Gallery
Deschamps seems to have been assisting Lindsay with exhibitions at the Grosvenor after the resignations of its managers Joseph Williams Comyns Carr (1849-1916), art critic and theatre manager [more] and Charles Edward Hallé (1846-1919), artist [more] in the autumn of 1887. See Casteras, Susan P., Colleen Denney, The Grosvenor Gallery a Palace of Art in Victorian England, New Haven, 1996, pp. 61-2.