The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Wisselingh., Elbert Jan Van
Record 5 of 27

System Number: 07100
Date: 11 June 1889
Author: Elbert J. van Wisselingh[1]
Place: The Hague
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1089
Document Type: ALS


11th June 1889

Dear Mr Whistler,

Mr Ph. Zilcken[2] has asked me to send you the enclosed invitation to contribute to the forthcoming exhibition of the Dutch etching club. I hope you will be represented there.

Baron van Lÿnden[3] returned from the South last week and called on me soon afterwards. I regret to say that he is [p. 2] not so much taken with the picture[4] and that he prefers his own[5]. However he may come to like it and I have advised him to secure it. The Dutch are slow and the Frenchman who said that they are the Chinamen of Europe was not far wrong. Now, I like it better than the first one even and some of our artists think very highly of it. James [p. 3] Maris[6], for whose opinion I care most thinks it is beautiful. That would be quite enough for me if I had been doubtful.

Hoping that you are well I remain, with kind regards to yourself and Mrs Whistler[7]
yours very truly

E. J. van Wisselingh

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Elbert J. van Wisselingh
Elbert Jan Van Wisselingh (b. ca 1848), art dealer [more].

2.  Mr Ph. Zilcken
Charles Louis Philippe Zilcken (1857-1930), etcher and writer [more].

3.  Baron van Lÿnden
Willem Reinhard Boelens (b. 1840), Baron van Lynden, banker and collector [more].

4.  picture
Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181). The Baron did not buy it.

5.  his own
Arrangement in Yellow and Grey: Effie Deans (YMSM 183).

6.  Maris
Jacobus ('Jacob') Hendricus Paul Maris (1837-1899), artist [more].

7.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].