The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Charles II
Record 2 of 2

System Number: 07030
Date: [19 June 1899][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1019
Document Type: ALS[3]


[Chatham coat of arms and motto:] BENIGNO NUMINE

My dear Willie -

I have been overun [sic] with work[4] and the preoccupation of possible law suits[5]! -

And voilà pourquoi I have not written to tell you how pleased I was with your two letters[6] -

You remember how Rossetti[7] used to dash off an answer of whatever kind, immediately - as he stood up with his hat on ready to go out! - -

Unless one does this - every day only adds to the accumulation of things!

Now I have come in here for a moment, and while waiting - being, by a rare chance "on time" as the frequenters of this hotel say! - [p. 2] and finding a pen under my fingers, I put off no further telling you then that I did take the foolish text the man of New York[8] sent you for my notice and correction, and amused myself by altering and improvising slightly! - But I haven't sent it off yet - However I think I will for fun - -

I must tell you though that I know of this person - and that it all means very little - What they really rely on or hope for, is our own possible weakness and naif vanity, which may induce us to order a thirty dollar copy of this work in order to find our names among the illustrious of the moment! -

Of course I am much more interested in the letter from Georgia[9] -

I shall write to our cousin[10] myself and of course I will return you her letter -

Now while we are about this, what do you say to the original Ralph Whistler[11] gentleman, who in 1609 held land in Virginia? - (You remember I sent you the book to look at.) Surely that settles the question of "F. F.V.[12]" - I shall certainly stick to this - Ralph Whistler is in the list of those who held land in Virginia under the grant of Charles II[13] and is supposed to have gone over to take possession -

Of course according to me did settle in Virginia and established the Whistler family F.f.V. - How simple! -

How are you? -

[p. 3] write us a line -

Always affectionately

Jim -

110. Rue du Bac -

This document is protected by copyright.


[Chatham coat of arms]

W. McNeill Whistler. Esq. M. D.
6B. Rickenhall Mansions.
Gloucester Place.
[postmark:] PARIS.80 / R. DU BAC / 8E 19 / JUIN / 99


1.  [19 June 1899]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

3.  ALS
Written at right-angles to the printed address.

4.  work
Possibly with Ivoire et or: Portrait de Madame Vanderbilt (YMSM 515).

5.  law suits
The case of Eden v Whistler; JW won a final appeal in April 1900. The case over the possession and price of Brown and Gold: Portrait of Lady Eden (YMSM 408) was first heard at the Civil Tribunal of the Seine on 27 February 1895; on 20 March 1895 JW was ordered to hand over the portrait, but appealed; the case was heard the Cour de Cassation on 17 November 1897, and on 2 December 1897 JW was allowed to keep the painting but return the money, interest and damages. In the final appeal in April 1900 JW won the case and Eden was ordered to pay expenses.

6.  two letters
Not located.

7.  Rossetti
Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-1882), artist and poet [more].

8.  man of New York

9.  letter from Georgia

10.  cousin
Not identified.

11.  Ralph Whistler
Ralph (Randolphus or H. S. E. Radulphus?) Whistler (d. 1656 or 1657) [more].

12.  F. F.V.
First Families of Virginia.

13.  Charles II
Charles II (1630-1685), King of England, 1649-1695, and Scotland, from 1651.