The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, Helen
Record 20 of 149

System Number: 07001
Date: [September/October 1881][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W990
Document Type: ALS[3]


Dear Willie

If I dont manage to get round to you tomorrow I shall see you I dare say by about Wednesday or Thursday. - meanwhile I hope you and Nellie[4] like your door[5] - though I fancy from what I managed to draw from Emma[6] that Nellie is a little disappointed -

I was rather proud of it myself - fancying [p. 2] that I had steered you through the dangers of what might be too startling on the one hand and dull and dreary on the other -

The name on the doorplate ought to be red - only better done than your painter has managed - in short it ought to [be] painted by the proper people who do those things -

Thank Nellie ever so much for the grapes they were lovely - and what became of them I think you will approve -

Always affecly


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [September/October 1881]
Dated from JW's letter to H. Whistler, #06694; see also #06695.

2.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]. See also JW to W. McN. Whistler, #07000 and to H. Whistler, #06695.

3.  ALS
The letter is written at right-angles to the printed address. 'No 17' is written at top left in another hand.

4.  Nellie
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

5.  door
JW had designed a colour scheme for the Whistlers' house at 28 Wimpole Street.

6.  Emma
Emma, possibly the servant of W. McN. Whistler.