The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Cole, Margaret Elizabeth
Record 9 of 9

System Number: 06733
Date: [19 August 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 249
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS

110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

My dear Nellie -

Suppose you were to pack up and send to me the little sketch[3] of sky and tops of houses that hangs in the bedroom up stairs -

I could sign it and look at it and see if it may not be worth something in a proper frame -

I should think there might be some guineas in that - while we are waiting for the other -

That would be better than borrowing before Kennedy[4] has got the Studio[5] - We are going to [p. 2] a spring in Normandy[6] - and will write you the address when we get there -

Are the Alan Coles[7] at Boulogne?

Did Willie[8] see my letter in the Pall Mall[9] - Aug. 9th? -

The "Sea & Rain[10]", that Aleco[11] gave me £20 - or £30 for, is on sale at Goupils - price 300. guineas -

We are off this afternoon -

With love to both - Affectly

J McN Whistler.

You can send the picture here at once, as I shall be continually coming to town, to see about my work. -

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs. William Whistler -
17. Wimpole Street
Cavendish Square -
[postmark:] PARIS-20 / 195 BD ST GERMAIN / [5E?] 19 / AOUT / 95
[postmark:] LONDON - W / V7 / AU 20 / 95


1.  [19 August 1895]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Helen Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  sketch
Green and Silver: The Devonshire Cottages (YMSM 266).

4.  Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

5.  Studio
The Artist's Studio (YMSM 62).

6.  spring in Normandy
Bagnoles-de-l'Orne; Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], was suffering from cancer.

7.  Alan Coles
Alan Summerly Cole (1846-1934), textile expert and museum official [more], and Margaret ('Margie') Elizabeth Cole (b. ca 1860, m. 1879), née Clark, wife of Alan S. Cole [more].

8.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

9.  Pall Mall Gazette
See Whistler, James McNeill, 'L'Influence du Jaune dans les Arts,' The Pall Mall Gazette, no. 9477, vol. 61, 9 August 1895, p. 2, and JW to Editor, 7 August [1895], #10852.

10.  Sea & Rain
Sea and Rain (YMSM 65).

11.  Aleco
Alexander ('Aleco') Ionides (1840-1898), businessman [more].