The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, Helen
Record 26 of 149

System Number: 06699
Date: [1881/1884][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W693
Document Type: TLc

I am awfully sorry my dear Nellie but I can't get down to Aleco's[3] tomorrow - I have an engagement that prevents

It is all very well about missing me - but I shall perhaps take you at your word and come again some day next week - Of course about the etching[4] - it is yours - and others too, if you only ask for them - it is quite your own fault if you have not a collection of them

I may have something to tell you about the Nocturne[5]! -

Now will you[6] do me a favour and tell Lizzie[7] to by [sic] buy for me one bag of hominy and one of Indian meal - and make the people send them - 13, Tite Street Chelsea -

There is no use, things would be too uncertain[,] I shall have to get them myself -

Adieu -
Always affectly


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1881/1884]
Dated from address. JW lived at No. 13 Tite Street during this period.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  Aleco's
Alexander ('Aleco') Ionides (1840-1898), businessman [more].

4.  etching
Helen Whistler's will suggests that she later acquired other etchings by JW. This one may have been a Venice etching such as The Steamboat, Venice (K.228).

5.  Nocturne
Perhaps Nocturne: Grey and Silver - Chelsea Embankment, Winter (YMSM 205) which was sold at Christie's, London, on 9 May 1881 to the collector James Guthrie Orchar (1825-1888), engineer and collector [more], or Nocturne in Black and Gold: Entrance to Southampton Water (YMSM 179), exhibited at 6th Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1882.

6.  Now will you ... Chelsea -
This section has been transcribed from another hand-written copy, by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], who recorded that it was crossed out in original. See #03306.

7.  Lizzie
Lizzie (b. ca 1853), possibly a servant of H. and W. McN. Whistler.