The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, Henry
Record 2 of 2

System Number: 06655
Date: 18 March 1901
Author: Emily Whistler[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Ajaccio[2]]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W649
Document Type: ALS

35. Chesterton Rd
N. Kensington

18. 3. 01.

Mr. Whistler

Dear Cousin

I have heard that you are very kind to those who are in distress. Can you spare me just a few moments in which to tell me of a Benevolent Society [p. 2] and also give me a letter which may influence the Board to grant me a weekly allowance

I was 61. last January and have kept myself up to the present time, but having had a Stroke of Paralysis last December I am so weak that I need help now. [p. 3] I kept school in Lewisham till the High Class Schools ruined me and others close by. Then I went to Dulwich and kept school till the "Free Educational Act"

From there I went to New Brighton Cheshire but after trying six years had to give up.

I then came back to London. At the above address [p. 4] I have a room and for over three years have managed to earn enough by daily engagements ect. [sic] But having so little strength now, I shall be so thankful for any influence my friends will kindly give me. Your brother[3] compared our crests & declared to my brother Walter[4] in Brooklyn that we are cousins.

Yours truly

Emily Whistler

Daughter of Henry Whistler[5] Esqr of Manor Cottage Lewisham Kent

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Emily Whistler
Emily Whistler (b. ca 1839), possibly a distant relative of Whistler [more].

2.  Ajaccio
JW was in Ajaccio, Corsica, at this date, but the letter was forwarded to him; and he asked Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], to call on her and give her some assistance (see JW to R. B. Philip, [24 March 1901], #04800.

3.  brother
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

4.  Walter
Walter Whistler, Brooklyn; not identified.

5.  Henry Whistler
Possibly Henry (d. before 1887), brother of Rose Fuller Whistler.