The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Document associated with: Alexander, George
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 06634
Date: [8 November 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Lyme Regis]
Recipient: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W628
Document Type: ALS

Dearest Chinkie -

Your little letter this morning troubled me from the, I thought, rather jumpy way in which it was written!

It put me in mind a bit of my own poor painting when it used to cause us such anxiety because of its hysterical hurry - And then I have been all day without an answer to my telegram which I sent the first thing, after my note by the early Bus! -

Here is a letter from the good Eddy[3] - [p. 2] very nice I believe - though I have barely read it - You might tell me if there is anything very particular in it - And that reminds me - how about the other one I sent you? Did you find anything in it? - or does it not matter much -

I was really surprised, in opening this one, to find that it is only a year since I painted his portrait[4]! I thought it at least two or three! Well I am glad - & he seems to have become very much pleased with his picture - and proud of it - I daresay it was a fine thing - Only if I had known then what I think I know now, we could [p. 3] really have made it superb -

Well well - it will be all right soon - dont you think my own dear Luck?! -

I am afraid you are bothered about the servants - (I wrote to you this morning about Bunnie's[5] letter) - But really if you think them spoiled why then they had better go - I mean Chinkie dear that you must not be troubled with them & the Major[6] can tell them whatever you like

Dont fancy that I couldn't quite do, and be glad to do whatever you prefer -

Alexander's[7] [p. 4] letter was quite pitiful! - poor Devil! - Of course it is a shame that he should be so abominably victimized - but then fancy his putting all that monstrous stuff about his wife in a public letter!

They really don't know how to behave! & so, I suppose, deserve to get into ridiculous messes!

Peter[8] I fancy will be going up in a day or two - perhaps tomorrow night - or Sunday - or may be Monday - He has said nothing further - but, in a way, I daresay it will be all for the best - for I should like him to go and see you & think it would be a comfort to you to hear all about our work down here - and how the Grinder has been getting on - & how he is getting through - & following directly himself!

I[9] fancy there must be something fine in the work - However I wrote you all [a]bout that in yesterdays long & beautiful letter! - How did The Wam like it?

She has a good look in at the little window all the time now!

Good night my darling my own dear Chinkie - I shall long for the mornings letter.

Dont be "morbid" dear Love! Cheer up my own Chinkie Luck - You are stronger, & this dismal weather depresses us all!

Her own fond & devoted

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs. J. McNeill Whistler.
Garlants Hotel -
Suffolk Street -
Pall Mall -
[postmark:] LYME·REGIS / D / NO 8 / 95


1.  8 November 1895
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]; her letter has not been located.

3.  Eddy
Arthur Jerome Eddy (1859-1920), writer and collector [more]; his letter may be #01026.

4.  portrait
Arrangement in Flesh Colour and Brown: Portrait of Arthur J. Eddy (YMSM 425).

5.  Bunnie's
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Major
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

7.  Alexander's
This probably refers to a letter from George Alexander (1858-1918) actor and manager of the St James's Theatre, dated 5 November 1895, and published in the Times, 6 November 1895, (p. 4, col. f). He asserted that one night when he was returning home to his wife at 57 Pont Street, a woman begged him for help and he gave her some money. He was charged with 'misconduct', as he thought, quite unjustifiably, and brought to court, but acquitted (Times, 5 November 1895, p. 13, col c)

8.  Peter
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more].

9.  I
'I fancy ... beautiful' is written in the left margin of p. 1, 'the letter ... I shall' in the top margin, and 'long ... letter' in the right margin of p. 1, at right angles to the main text. 'Dont be ... cheer up my' is written in the right margin, 'own Chinkie ... weather' in the top margin, and the remainder in the right margin of p. 3.