The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Document associated with: Ionides, Alexander George
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 06552
Date: 19 September 1872
Author: Anna McNeill Whistler[1]
Place: London
Recipient: Elfrida Elizabeth Ionides[2]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W545
Document Type: MsLc

2 Lindsey Houses Chelsea

Tuesday afternoon Sept 19th.

My dear Mrs Lucas

I heartily wish we could avail [sic] of your friendly invitation for Thursday, it would delight me to see your "boyie[3]" in his nursery & then that we should have had a cosy evening with yourself & your [husband][4], but Jemie[5] had already been obliged to refuse going out to dine with his old friend Mr Rose[6], as he says his work this week makes it impossible. I hope however before he leaves Chelsea for his engagement to resume work at Speke Hall[7] we may be permitted to have a friendly re union in your sweet home & I shall take the liberty to propose an evening in due time if I perceive it may be realised. My son[8] the Doctor was here at our 8 oc[loc]k dinner last night! but had to go directly after as a Telegram from a Patient made it necessary[,] his hands are very full

Interrupted by a call! Post time adieu

Affectionately yours

A. M. Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Anna McNeill Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  Elfrida Elizabeth Ionides
Elfrida Elizabeth Ionides (1848-1929), née Bird, wife of Luke A. Ionides [more].

3.  boyie
Alexander George Ionides (b. 1870), son of E. and L. Ionides; see Luke Ionides, Memories, Paris, 1925, 1996 edition (ed. Julia Ionides), p. 80.

4.  [husband]
Text missing.

5.  Jemie
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more].

6.  Mr Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

7.  Speke Hall
The home of Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more]. It was an Elizabethean mansion situated near Liverpool; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 7-10 September 1870, #06545.

8.  son
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].