The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: King, Ralph
Record 20 of 41

System Number: 06523
Date: 5 May 1864
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[1]
Place: London
Recipient: James H. Gamble[2]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: Whistler W517
Document Type: ALS

7 Lindsey Row, Old Battersea Bridge
Chelsea - London,

May 5th 1864

My dear Mr Gamble

A sprained fore finger on my right hand explains the mystery of my silence, for you know how readily your old friend Mrs Whistler has always welcomed your arrival. Jemie[3] has returned recently from his 2nd trip to Paris this Spring, he is so pressed for a picture[4] now on his Easel, ordered & promised for a birth day present, that he can neither read or write for his Mother, he had to however [read] your letter in pencil from Homeland which my eyes could not & believe me your expression of loving him as a brother was not thrown away upon him. Dont come yet to London it would so mortify him not to be at liberty to shew you attention. he joins [p. 2] me in love to you. We have no plans yet for the summer. When my finger is less painful I'll write you again & hope to hear how you left all at Homeland. I received the letter & Ten Dollar gold piece & precious Photograph which Mr King[5] sent by you to me. It was delivered here safely yesterday & I signed the paper of the Register Office[.] Thanks to you my dear friend who are ever so mindful of others. God bless & reward you. How beautiful your native land must look to you in its early Spring freshness! I am sure it will be a charming benefit to you to visit it & your beloved friends & relatives, I wish I could visit Ireland! but if I go any where it must be for health & I think of some German baths, but may not realize the freedom to choose.

[p. 3] I am to attend a christening D V. on Monday next & spend some days as a guest out of London - & hope the country air may make me feel stronger. If you write by the next Steamer home do send my love to your dear Mother & Sister[6]. how they must miss you! & how must the chickens! The Guinea fowls will be calling out "Come back, come back" I must not strain either my eyes or finger more now than to say write when you have leisure to us, & you shall hear in response from your gratefully attached & affectionate

Old friend

Anna M. Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  James H. Gamble
James H. Gamble (b. 1820), clerk [more].

3.  Jemie
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more].

4.  picture
Perhaps Variations in Flesh Colour and Green: the Balcony, (YMSM 56), on which JW was working in February; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 10-11 February 1864, #06522. JW composed the first stage of the painting and signed it 'Whistler. 1865.'

5.  King
Ralph King (1801-1878), broker, father-in-law of W. McN. Whistler [more].

6.  Mother & Sister
Jane Gamble (1790-1864), mother of J. H. Gamble [more], and her daugther Jane Wann (1822-1875), née Gamble, wife of S. Wann [more].