The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Wann, Jane
Record 15 of 56

System Number: 06491
Date: 9 November [1857[1]]
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[2]
Place: Scarsdale
Recipient: James H. Gamble[3]
Place: [Staten Island, New York]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W486
Document Type: ALS[4]


Monday eve Nov 9th

Dear Mr Gamble

The tub of butter[5] was put in our cellar this morning & then came your kind note. I cannot help feeling very much obliged by your attending to it so pleasantly. And now enclose a Check of Bank of New York for the amount of bill you so kindly settled for me. $12.42 cts.

How grateful is my heart to your dear Sister[6] too for her offer to aid me in the making of my Willies[7] shirts. thank her for me & say I shall not resist her offer. I heard from my Sister[8] today that she would meet me at 8 Sidney Place[9] by the blessing of the Lord thursday 13th. she does not say to spend her few days with me, but you will run over perhaps, or we shall hear [p. 2] from each other & if my Sister must leave me next week, I shall wish not to delay going to make my too short visit to yours. Willie & I yearn to be together & my relatives in Charleston[10] write me that my room is ready & they urge me to hasten on.

Mrs Tho Winans[11] writes me she is to be at the Metropolitan[12] on thursday, to spend a week & expects to see me often there. she invites me to visit Baltimore [as] soon as I can. Our friends all remember you very affectionately & unite with me in love to you. Miss Sarah[13] has returned from her visit this evening, has been for a fortnight in a paradise on the Hudson! I have been hard at work all the morning arranging all for my succession in housekeeping &c[.] this afternoon I walked to bid adieu to poor [p. 3] Anise[14], who is suffering & feeble. I read to her & she talked with me of our meeting in a heavenly home. I must now step in to sit an hour with my pastor & Mrs O[15]. tho I am so tired bodily! and am to be too busy to rest the two next days. Adieu with love to your dear Mother[16] & Sister

You know I am unalterably
Your sincere friend

Anna M Whistler.

Oh how refreshing it will be to look on upon the sewing machine working while I rest. thank your Sister! And I thank God for disposing hearts to help me in my need as He ever does. You are always & are one of my true friends. heaven bless & reward you.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  1857
Dated with reference to AMW's trip to Charleston in December of the same year, Sarah Hill's stay in a leisure resort, and the Perpetual Calendar Whitaker's Almanac; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 4 November 1857, #06490.

2.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

3.  James H. Gamble
James H. Gamble (b. 1820), clerk [more]; see AMW to JW, 15 December 1856, #06477.

4.  ALS
Letter bears an embossed stamp: 'PARIS PAPER'.

5.  butter
See AMW to James H. Gamble, 4 November 1857, #06490.

6.  Sister
Jane Wann (1822-1875), née Gamble, wife of S. Wann [more].

7.  Willies
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

8.  my Sister
Catherine ('Kate') Jane Palmer (ca 1812 - d.1877), née McNeill, AMW's sister [more].

9.  8 Sidney Place
8 Sidney Place, New York was the home address of Ida Bayard Whistler, née King (d. 1863), JW's sister-in-law [more]. Her mother, Isabella King, had recently died; see AMW to JW, 17 September 1857, #06488.

10.  relatives in Charleston
Probably Mary Corbett (b. 1804), cousin of AMW [more]; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 13 January 1857, #06379

11.  Mrs Tho Winans
Celeste Winans (1823-1861), née Revillon, wife of Thomas De Kay Winans [more].

12.  Metropolitan
Probably the Metropolitan Hotel, 580 Broadway, New York; see Pictorial and Business Directory, New York, 1853, p. 181.

13.  Miss Sarah
Sarah Stewart Hill (1800-1864), sister of M. G. Hill [more]. She had been in Palisades Ridge, a flat-topped, 150-foot high cliff and siderock formation on the west shore of Piermont Marsh, Hudson River, NY; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 4 November 1857, #06490.

14.  Anise
Probably Anna Wood, of Scarsdale, NY.

15.  pastor & Mrs O
Rev. William Whittinghame Olssen (1827-1911), Rector at Scarsdale, NY [more], and his wife Louisa Olssen (b. 1828).

16.  Mother
Jane Gamble (1790-1864), mother of J. H. Gamble [more].