The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Wann, Jane
Record 14 of 56

System Number: 06490
Date: 4 November [1857[1]]
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[2]
Place: Scarsdale
Recipient: James H. Gamble[3]
Place: [Staten Island, New York]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W485
Document Type: ALS[4]


Wednes. night
Nov 4th

It is against my rules for self-restraint to write by night, but time is so limited & I know not what might interfere tomorrow. This morning directly after church I made ready for a long walk with Miss Margaret[5] (who has just said to me give my love to friend Gamble) and mine share with your Mother & Sister[6] inseparable with you my dear friend - On my return at noon I found Mrs Aspinwall & her son Dick[7] at the cottage, they had arrived by mail train & were escorted to the Rectory by Mrs Popham[8] who left them to Mr & Mrs Olssen[9], the impression is favorable for this school, but Mrs A is devoting this week to visiting several schools & then will decide. she finds this distance most [p. 2] convenient. May the Lord dispose her heart to a decision He may bless to her boy. here he would be sheltered & Mr Popham[10] would feel his claim upon the attention of his family. dear Mrs Maxwell enjoys the retrospect of last week. you both came dear friends to bring sunshine to our cottage parlor. I shall be glad to hear you found all well on the Island.

And now I will venture to ask you if [it is] in your power to help me secure a firkin of good butter. 50 lbs, not more, of such orange co[lor] as you told me you could procure at 25 cts a pound. I fear to delay till I get to town & then must have taxed you to go with me to buy it. I promise to be in Sidney Place[11] thursday 13th by the blessing of the Lord, that will be only a week [p. 3] before Thanksgiving & you know how commodities will rise in price by then.

Please let me hear if not in your power to attend to this Commission for me. you know I would not interfere with business. I was so disappointed at hearing from Pomfret my order there was after all that dairy had been engaged, & too late for other dairies! I wish so earnestly to set my house in order & supply it for the winter ere Miss Sarah[12] comes to take her turn in its management. We have not heard from her, no doubt she is enjoying every hour among the charms of High Cliff[13]. Miss M will join me in Brooklyn, but not go with me. she is to be guest at Mrs Cammanns[14]. Goodnight dear friend. I am doing as I'd be done by, tho I always regret taxing the attention of gentlemen.

Ever your attached friend

A M Whistler

[p. 4] If good butter is even 26 or 7 cents - I'll send you a check immediately you can inform me the amount dear Mr Gamble. You have been a helper to me so often words cannot express my value of your friendship.

Your obliged & grateful

A M Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  1857
Dated with reference to the Perpetual Calendar Whitaker's Almanac.

2.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

3.  James H. Gamble
James H. Gamble (b. 1820), clerk [more]; see AMW to JW, 15 December 1856, #06477.

4.  ALS
Letter bears an embossed stamp: 'PARIS PAPER'.

5.  Miss Margaret
Margaret Getfield Hill (1802-1881), a friend of AMW, of Scarsdale, NY [more].

6.  Mother & Sister
Jane Gamble (1790-1864), mother of J. H. Gamble [more], and her daughter Jane Wann (1822-1875), née Gamble, wife of S. Wann [more].

7.  Mrs Aspinwall & her son Dick
Margaret Aspinwall (d. 1881), née Maxwell, wife of J. S. Aspinwall [more], and her son Richard ('Dick') Aspinwall.

8.  Mrs Popham
Jane O'Neill Hill (1793-1882), sister of M. G. Hill, second wife of W. S. Popham [more].

9.  Mr & Mrs Olssen
Rev. William Whittinghame Olssen (1827-1911), Rector at Scarsdale, NY [more], and his wife Louisa Olssen (b. 1828).

10.  Mr Popham
William Sherbrooke Popham (1793-1885), merchant [more].

11.  Sidney Place
8 Sidney Place, New York was the home address of Ida Bayard Whistler, née King (d. 1863), JW's sister-in-law [more]; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 9 November 1857, #06491.

12.  Miss Sarah
Sarah Stewart Hill (1800-1864), sister of M. G. Hill [more].

13.  High Cliff
Probably Palisades Ridge, a flat-topped, 150-foot high cliff and siderock formation on the west shore of Piermont Marsh, Hudson River, NY; see AMW to James H. Gamble, #06491.

14.  Mrs Cammanns
Probably Catherine Cammann (b. 1810), wife of Dr G. P. Cammann [more].