UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Wedmore, Mrs
Record 2 of 2

System Number: 06128
Date: 29 October 1895
Author: Thomas Robert Way[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Lyme Regis]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W125
Document Type: ALS[2]


LITHOGRAPHIC PRINTING OFFICE,
21, WELLINGTON STREET, STRAND, W. C.
LONDON,

Octr. 29 1895

Dear Mr. Whistler

We have just received a little stone with drawing[3], safely, from Paris. It will be proved tomorrow and sent to you. I am going to Paris for two or three days to look at the show[.] Now, concerning the Catalogue, I have been in communication with Gleeson White[4], who, perhaps you know, is connected with Geo, Bell & Sons[5] the publishers; and he expects them to be willing to undertake its printing, binding, & publishing, and if they do it will be done in a really first class manner. My Father[6] [p. 2] after looking through the manuscript agrees with me that in their hands it would be much better treated than we could do from here. Now I want to ask you a great favour. Will you allow me to print "The little Court," or the "Entrance Gate" St. Bartholomews as a frontispice[7]. I do not expect to see any return personally, from the book, of which of course only the most limited edition is likely to be sold, say 100 copies. If I have any return, I will willingly give you half, for the use of the drawing. And if not I can only offer the work itself as a humble tribute at the feet of the master -

Please do not mention this catalogue [p. 3] to Mr Thompson[8] when he comes down to see you. He has told me he was about to do so, and he really was rather rough on me today when after I have spent best part of two days in coaching up Wedmore[9] in Lithography for the Art Journal. But a long while ago when I told him (Thompson) that I thought of making a Catalogue, he jumped at it and asked me to allow them to publish. Now it would never do, for your sake to do so, with Bell's it will be put before all art dealers. Their failure to dispose of the bulk of the old Brown paper Notes[10] has not impressed me well. [p. 4] But please send me a little list of the French drawings? I will send you proofs of the Catalogue as soon as may be.

With kindest regards to Mrs Whistler[11] and yourself from us both

I remain yours very sincerely

Tom R. Way


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

2.  ALS
Published by Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, pp. 142-43, no. 152.

3.  drawing
Girl with Bowl (C.118).

4.  Gleeson White
Joseph William Gleeson White (1851-1898), writer on art, first editor of the Studio [more].

5.  Geo, Bell and Sons
George Bell and Sons published T. R. Way's Reliques of Old London in 1896. This was followed by a succession of similar topographical works illustrated by Way; Smale, Nicholas Burry, 'Thomas R. Way, His Life and Work,' The Tamarind Papers, vol. 10, no. 1, pp. 16-27.

6.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

7.  frontispice
Little Court, Cloth Fair (C.22), Entrance Gate (C.20). JW did not give permission for the use of either of these lithographs in Way, Thomas R., Mr. Whistler's Lithographs: the Catalogue, London, 1896.

8.  Mr Thompson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more]. Thomson visited JW in Lyme Regis in November 1895 to persuade the artist to exhibit lithographs at the Goupil Gallery, but JW had already committed himself to show at the Fine Art Society. Thomas Way had informed Huish in October of the rival claim by Goupil's for an exhibition of JW's lithographs, and this stimulated Huish to act quickly; Huish to JW, 26 October 1895, #01301.

9.  Wedmore
Frederick Wedmore (1844-1921), art critic [more].

10.  Brown paper Notes
Limehouse (C.7), Nocturne (C.8), Gaiety Stage Door (C.14), Victoria Club (C.15), Reading (C.17) and Old Battersea Bridge (C.18) were published together by Boussod, Valadon and Co. as Notes, in November 1887 (see #06088, and Way, Thomas Robert, Memories of James McNeill Whistler, the Artist, London and New York, 1912, p. 87).

11.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].