The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Deschamps, Charles William
Record 14 of 54

System Number: 00577
Date: 17 July 1876
Author: Alfred Chapman[1]
Place: Liverpool
Recipient: JW
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler C78
Document Type: ALS


17 July 1876

J. M. Whistler Esq -
2 Lyndsay [sic] Row

Dear Jim

Your telegram just to hand & remembering one of the few scraps of Latin I do remember Bis dat[2] &c I send you enclosed cheque for sixty guineas ie sixty three pounds for the "Blue Waves"[3] I saw at Deschamps[4] gallery[.] [p. 2] Will you let Jennings[5] have the picture on or before the 21st inst as he is returning one to me then from George[6] so they can both come down together.

I hope you will be able to come here this autumn

I am off to Kenilworth in a few minutes [till?] Thursday - my address there will be care of H B Preston[7] - Fern Bank

Believe me
yours [sincerely?]

Alfred Chapman

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Alfred Chapman
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more]

2.  Bis dat
'Bis dat qui cito dat', Latin: 'He gives twice who gives quickly,' attributed to Publilius Syrus.

3.  Blue Waves
Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Bognor (YMSM 100). Exhibited as cat. no. 149, Nocturne in Blue and Gold.

4.  Deschamps
Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

5.  Jennings
Jennings, an unidentified friend of A. Chapman?

6.  George
Possibly George R. Chapman (b. 1834), artist [more].

7.  H B Preston
Henry B. Preston, resident at Fern Bank, Ladies' Hill, Kenilworth.