The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Edward VII
Record 7 of 7

System Number: 05261
Date: 21 July 1902
Author: George Hay[1]
Place: Edinburgh
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler R157
Document Type: ALS

[shield with lion rampant supported by unicorns]



21st July 1902

My dear Sir,

Our fellow Member of the Academy Mr James Guthrie[2] was good enough to show me a letter of 12th inst he had received from Mrs Philip[3] [sic] explaining on your behalf the cause of the delay in answering officially the intimation of your unanimous election to the rank of Honorary Member of the Academy, and requesting the Council to accept, meanwhile, the explanation given. Also conveying your courteous message to the Council with regard to your high appreciation of the distinction.

I need hardly assure you of my deepest sympathy in your present convalescence and I may venture to say that of the Council also when they become acquainted with the circumstances.

With regard to your request to have your Diploma forwarded permit me to explain that [p. 2] the King's Royal Sign Manual has yet to be appended to it as well as those of other members elected last spring. His Majesty's[4] recent illness happily now it is hoped at an end, may retard this being done for some little time, but the first suitable opportunity will be taken advantage of to get the respective Diplomas signed.

In the hope of your speedy recovery to perfect health,

Believe me,
Yours sincerely,

George Hay,


J. McNeil [sic] Whistler Esqr
H. R. S. A.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  George Hay
George Hay (1831-1913), genre painter, Secretary of the Royal Scottish Academy [more]. See also related correspondence, #01873; #01874; #01875; #01976; #01877; #01878; #01879; #01880; #04839; #05259; #05260, #05262; #10581. JW was still recovering from serious illness in The Hague, Holland, where he had been travelling with Charles Lang Freer (1856-1919), industrialist, collector and founder of the Freer Gallery of Art [more].

2.  Mr James Guthrie
James Guthrie (1859-1930), landscape and portrait painter [more].

3.  Mrs Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

4.  His Majesty's
Edward VII (1841-1910), King of Great Britain from 1901-1910 [more].