UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Blum, Robert Frederick
Record 2 of 5

System Number: 04613
Date: 28 June 1886
Author: Robert Goodloe Harper Pennington[1]
Place: Baltimore
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P253
Document Type: ALS


BALTIMORE CLUB.

Dear Jimmy:

I am engaged to be married. My young woman is really (raptures aside) very charming: & only just seventeen!

Indeed, I am often tempted to believe that the poor little thing's extreme youth is, in a great measure, responsible for this rash conduct on her part.

I am marrying simply because I cannot [p. 2] help it. You may laugh as much as you please, but I am head-over-everything in love, & cannot get on without my small sweetheart. That is a plain statement of the case.

Tell the boys[2] for me.

The young ladie's name is, Caroline de Wolf Theobald[3], & I hope to show her to you some day. At present I am instilling a wholesome respect for your works into her childish mind, which will tell when we meet.

As ever yours.

Harper.

7 East Eager St. Baltimore

June 28th '86.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Robert Goodloe Harper Pennington
Robert Goodloe Harper Pennington (1854-1920), artist [more], who JW met in Venice in 1879-80.

2.  the boys
Other student artists and followers that JW met in Venice, known as 'Duveneck's Boys' after their teacher Frank Duveneck (1848-1919), painter, etcher and art teacher [more]. Pennington may have been thinking of artists such as Robert Frederick Blum (1857-1903), artist [more], Otto Henry Bacher (1856-1909), book illustrator and etcher [more] and George Edward Hopkins (1855- after 1923), artist and printmaker [more].

3.  Caroline de Wolf Theobald
Caroline Pennington (b. 1869), née de Wolf Theobald [more].