UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Paddon, Samuel Wreford
Record 13 of 24

System Number: 04369
Date: [9 July 1882?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Samuel Wreford Paddon[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P8
Document Type: ALd


No 3[3].

No no! too late my dear Paddon this professed indifference disregard to all further details in this matter! -

To challenge certain evidence and thus to refuse to receive it was original enough - even when I waived all consideration of the bet - But to refuse publish my letters without my permission and without admitting the testimony of Mr Jack McNay[4] that had been called for - thus leaving upon the minds of your readers the impression that it was either not forth coming or adverse to myself, is more than excentric [sic] - Ces choses là ne se font pas mon ami[5]! -

That you should cling to your faith belief and that you should make of the wily Portuguee[6] a chosen comparison for life was your own affair - Remember that I dropped the discussion [p. 2] months ago with a readiness that must have pleased you that I ventured to hope might still not reveal any sense of pity or fatigue indifference and wit at your request witheld [sic] in good faith Mr MacNay's letter - but now that you have chosen to take this decided and unwarrantable truly incredible step I am forced, (forgive me), to send you the enclosed copy of that letter - which, if I may be permitted I would suggest that for your own sake you yourself should hasten to publish and circulate among those who might erroniously [sic] suppose that the printed "Correspondence" exhausts the question Catalogue of Howell's capacities

and terminateds in the triumph of virtue as personified by that naif enfant[7] -

Accept my best wishes sympathies
and believe me
Very sincerely Yrs


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [9 July 1882?]
This is one of two similar drafts of a reply to Paddon's letter of 8 July (#09526). The other draft is #09527.

2.  Samuel Wreford Paddon
Samuel Wreford Paddon (b. 1843), diamond merchant and collector [more].

3.  No 3
Both drafts (#09527 and #04369) were numbered '3' by JW, presumably while preparing for the publication of Whistler, James McNeill, Correspondence. Paddon Papers. The Owl and the Cabinet, London, [1882], where the final version is No. IX (#13326). For full annotation of the pamphlet, see JW's letter to S. W. Paddon, 10 March 1882 (#09519).

4.  Mr Jack McNay
John ('Jack') Edward MacNay (1834-1893), General Manager of the Stockton and Darlington Railway [more].

5.  Ces choses là ne se font pas mon ami
Fr., these things are not done, my friend.

6.  the wily Portuguee
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more].

7.  naif enfant
Fr., naive child.