UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Buck, J. H.
Record 2 of 8

System Number: 03487
Date: [24 July 1888?][1]
Author: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Recipient: [Roland F.] Knoedler[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 7/24
Document Type: ALd


Knoedler

Dear Sir

I beg to enclose copy of list of etchings, with & their prices present prices, of with proofs of which Mr Whistler would be prepared to furnish you. I also send Mr Whistler's account for the proofs the which according to your desire, I delivered to Mr Buck[4] for you.

And I am
Dear Sir
Fai[thfu]lly [Messrs?]

Secretary

P. S. P. S. You will notice that "Nashs Fruit Shop"[5] on the new list has been raised for the future to ten guineas £10 - 10 - 0 pera proof. You have had Consequently the one that you have received for six guineas you can offer in the market for ten guineas.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [24 July 1888?]
Dated from sequence of draft/copy letters written by Hanson in JW's letterbook. However the date could also be c. 27 July 1888, the first date on #13080 (see note below).

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more]. #13080 appears to be a copy of Knoedler's account with JW (with 'Nashs Fruit Shop' still at six guineas). The dates on the account run from 27 July 1888 to 20 July 1889.

3.  [Roland F.] Knoedler
Perhaps Roland F. Knoedler, art dealer (see #13080).

4.  Mr Buck
Perhaps J. H. Buck, employee of the Goupil Gallery, London.

5.  'Nashs Fruit Shop'
T.A.Nash's Fruit-Shop (K.263).