The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Way, Louisa
Record 1 of 2

System Number: 03358
Date: [1881/1882][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 83
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]

Dear Tom -

Don't be alarmed but I am so ill that my brother[4] has kept me here to doctor -

However he seems to think that I may still get round in the course of the morning to you -

Meanwhile like a good fellow will you and your Father[5] watch a little over the proofs[6] &c &c - and let no prying spies come into the place -

The proofs might be put into the press - and I shall try to reach early in the day - Make my [p. 2] thanks and apologies to the kind Madame[7] but after all the trouble I have given her I cannot make use of all her attention -

As to thanking your Father & yourself of course I don't suppose I shall ever be able to do that -

Goodnight -

[butterfly signature] a very sick butterfly -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1881/1882]
Dated from butterfly signature. In a manuscript copy of this letter, Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], recorded a note by Way 'giving possible date 1881 & saying that it refers to proving of Venice plates' (Glasgow University Library, Whistler LB 5/4).

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 36, no. 6.

4.  my brother
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

5.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

6.  proofs
T R. Way helped in the printing of JW's plates from Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5).

7.  Madame
Perhaps Louisa Way (b. ca 1833, m. 1859), née Chapman, wife of Thomas Way [more].