The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, William
Record 10 of 16

System Number: 03176
Date: [3 October 1894][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: Paris
Recipient: Arthur Haythorne Studd[3]
Place: Le Pouldu, Brittany
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/223
Document Type: MsLc[4]

110 Rue du Bac -

My dear Peter:

Thank you so much for the lovely roses - they arrived in perfect condition and put me quite out of conceit with my own.

I am afraid you will never forgive us, but it is really not our fault, and Jimmie is simply in despair at the loss of his summer.

His brother[5] goes back to London next Saturday - Will you still be in Poldu? But in any case - do just as you would have done if we had not been coming - We saw Mr. Johnstone[6] last night who gave us news of you - Is it cold with you? Here it is perfectly miserable, cold and dull.

How did you know the red boy[7] got off - I do not remember telling you that - do you know his mother got six months?! but perhaps, I did tell you all this, and have forgotten it!!!

Have you heard that Howard Cushing's aunt Mrs. Buyt[8] [9] is dead? I am very sorry - she was a nice woman.

We all miss you very much Peter - do - do - come and take a little flat somewhere you know very well you will be able to manage it. Ethel[10] has got a very pretty one in the rue Garancière near St. Sulpice, which she can see out of the dining room window. Whibley[11] is in London. They are giving him a complimentary dinner next Friday. Here is the invitation: -

"A Complimentary dinner -
to that admirable sinner,
Charles Whibley, will on Friday
next be given;
At Soferino's[12] Eating house
Come, honour this preposterous spouse
you'll find your soup all simmering
hot at seven."

Write and tell us all your plans and dont be too cross with us.

With affectionate remembrances from us all.

Beatrix Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


Arthur Studd Esq.
Le Poulda, Près Lorient.
[postmark:] Oct 3. 1894.


1.  3 October 1894
Dated by the postmark as recorded by the copyist.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Arthur Haythorne Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more].

4.  MsLc
Copied by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

5.  his brother
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more], had been visiting Paris (see B. Whistler to A. H. Studd, #03175).

6.  Mr. Johnstone
Possibly John Humphries Johnston (1859-1941), painter [more].

7.  red boy
Not identified; possibly a servant.

8.  Howard Cushing's
Howard Gardiner Cushing (1869-1916), painter [more].

9.  Mrs. Buyt
Mrs Buyt, unidentified.

10.  Ethel
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

11.  Whibley
Charles Whibley (1859-1930), writer and journalist [more].

12.  Soferino's
A popular restaurant in London: 'Those who require a good dinner at a moderate price may go to the London, the Rainbow, or the Mitre, in Fleet-street; Simpson's, in the Strand; or John O'Groats, or the Solferino, Rupert-street, Haymarket. ' Routledge's Popular Guide to London, [c. 1873], in (accessed 12.12.2003).