The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Clausen, George
Record 15 of 18

System Number: 02311
Date: 14 May 1898
Author: Albert Ludovici[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler I51
Document Type: ALS



Saturday 14th of May - / 1898.

Dear Whistler -

We have just finished hanging your work - and the three etchings by Mrs Whistler[2], your portrait[3], arrived at 2ock this afternoon, and after carefully unpacking and cleaning it, we brought it into the room like a gem that it is, and put it in its place[.] there had been some doubts, as to the white frames - but now that they are placed with your work, we recognise the masters superior knowledge, and see what a magnificent wall it all makes - The Art Critics are all in wonderment over it and [p. 2] I see Stevenson[4] writing in a corner, the whole of his article, wishing no doubt to give it some local colour - Mrs Whibley[5] came in just now with Mrs Pennell[6], and wishes to let you know that she received telegram; and all will be attended to - We were here last night until midnight, doing the catalogue, so that I had no time before, to write to you, Thaulow[7] came in this morning, it appears, that he was very well satisfied with the show and thought it the finest he had seen anywhere, I was not here early enough to meet him -

I want to know, what we are to do with two charming pen and ink drawings by you - that came in a former case from Paris - you did not say hang them, so that I am rather in a fix about them.

[p. 3] Howard[8] has just had a note from Sir Dighton Probyn[9], to say that the Prince[10] will not come on Monday, but later on - Howard has not read your letter to H. R. Highness - to us yet - but suppose that there will be a meeting called shortly - Forain[11] has not sent his drawings - and although I much regret that he is not more represented - only has 1 oil picture, and a drawing in the set of lithographs, I am not sorry as we have not another five inches to spare any where[.] I am expecting Heinemann[12], who cannot come on Monday, and has asked to come today; I think you would be agreeably surprised, if you walked in and saw the rooms - they impress one very much, and I am sure, will mark another epoch in the Whistlerian era, become historical, and start a revolution in picture shows. [p. 4] just as much as the famous show at Suffolk Street did - Clausen[13] came up to me yesterday and said it was a most interesting exhibition -

The Admiral[14] seems very delighted, especially since I got a few drawings by his Friend Lady Granby[15], up hung on the walls, for him - the Show of sculpture is very good, and I am sure that the black and whites, hung by Pennell[16], look quite fine[.] it was impossible to get all the coloured lithos hung together, but Valadon[17] need not know of that. I will let you know the result of Monday - who was here, etc etc - as soon as I can -

With kindest regards to Mrs and Miss Philip[18] -
votre bien dévoué -

A. Ludovici

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Albert Ludovici
Albert Ludovici, Jr (1852-1932), painter [more]. This letter relates to preparations for the Exhibition of International Art, International Society of Sculptors, Painters and Gravers, London, 1898, the first exhibition organised by the newly formed society.

2.  three etchings by Mrs Whistler
The etchings selected by JW from the work of Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], are unidentified in the exhibition catalogue. Several of her etchings are in the Hunterian Art Gallery, such as a self portrait, Head of "Rix Birnie", La Bouchère de Tours and View from the Chateau walls, Loches, and several etchings of fish, such as Goldfish (GLAHA 50211, 45152, 45151 and 45146 respectively).

3.  your portrait
Brown and Gold (YMSM 440).

4.  Stevenson
Robert Macaulay Stevenson (1860-1952), painter and art critic [more].

5.  Mrs Whibley
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Mrs Pennell
Elizabeth Robins Pennell (1855-1936), née Robins, JW's biographer [more].

7.  Thaulow
Fritz Thaulow (1847-1906), painter, printmaker and author [more].

8.  Howard
Francis Howard (1874-1954), painter, art critic and collector [more].

9.  Sir Dighton Probyn
Sir Dighton Macnaghten Probyn (1833-1924), Secretary to the Prince of Wales [more].

10.  Prince
Albert Edward Saxe-Coburg (1841-1910), H.R.H. The Prince of Wales [more].

11.  Forain
Jean Louis Forain (1852-1931), painter and printmaker [more].

12.  Heinemann
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

13.  Clausen
George Clausen (1852-1944), painter and print-maker [more].

14.  Admiral
Admiral Friedrich ('Frederick') Augustus Maxse (1833-1900), political writer [more]. Maxse was proprietor of the Prince's Rink Skating Club, the venue for the ISSPG exhibition.

15.  Lady Granby
Marian Margaret Violet Manners (1856-1937), née Lindsay, Marchioness of Granby [more].

16.  Pennell
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926), printer and illustrator, JW's biographer [more].

17.  Valadon
Felix Edouard Vallotton (1865-1925), artist [more].

18.  Mrs and Miss Philip
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more]; and Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].