The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Woods, Alice
Record 2 of 2

System Number: 00022
Date: [29 August 1899][1]
Author: JW
Place: Pourville-sur-mer
Recipient: Inez Addams[2]
Place: [Killiney, Co. Dublin]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler A22
Document Type: ALS

My dear Miss Bate -

I have just come back from Amsterdam - where I could have carried off I fancy, from their canals, more than the natives seem to even dream of! - But the wicked courants d'air[3], as I sat in the boat, warned me that I must still pay attention to my [p. 2] doctor[4] - for that mad cold I acquired in England has not really quite left me -

Your very nice letter[5] followed me - and I read it with great interest and pleasure!

And now what more news have you for me? - Meanwhile the enclosed you may answer in some [p. 3] evasive way - for "Art Village[6]" is rather terrible -

Tell me something more of your Coast[7] - I should like to take away with me a sea piece perhaps - and here there is nothing but the wonderful air for the health I have been too impatient to wait for -

Carmen[8] writes to say that her doctors treatment has been perfectly successful - and that all is right -

I certainly do hope this is so - for we all are very fond of her -

Very Sincerely Yours

J McNeill Whistler -

Pavillon Madeleine
pres Dieppe

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [29 August 1899]
Dated from postmark on the envelope for this item; see #00021. JW was in Amsterdam on 20 August (#04750) and wrote to Rosalind Birnie Philip from London on 22 August saying that he was coming to Pourville the next day (#04751). A letter he wrote on the same mourning paper to Carmen Rossi about her health (#07784) was doubtless written on the same day as this letter.

2.  Inez Addams
Inez Eleanor Addams (fl. 1898-1927), née Bate, painter [more].

3.  courants d'air
Fr., currents of air.

4.  doctor
Probably Dr William Boyter-Johnson (b. ca 1853), JW's doctor in London [more] between 1897 and 1901.

5.  letter

6.  Coast
Inez Bate was at Lecarrow, Killiney, on the scenic south coast of Co. Dublin in August and September 1899. JW visited Co. Dublin in August 1900, where he painted Howth Head, near Dublin (YMSM 538).

7.  Art Village
Alice Woods to JW, 8 August 1899, #07108. She wished to study at the Académie Carmen.

8.  Carmen
Carmen Rossi, model, proprietess of the Académie Carmen [more].