The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, Helen
Record 3 of 149

System Number: 02182
Date: [September 1877?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: [a cousin][2]
Place: [London?]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H279a
Document Type: ALf[3]

My dear Cousin -

I have asked Mr & Mrs Rose[4] to meet you at dinner here and have just received their answer accepting for tomorrow - Do pray come - Dinner at 8 o'clock and I have sent for Nellie and the Doctor[5],

With very kindest regards to [...]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [September 1877?]
On the reverse side of this sheet is a list of accounts that runs from 17 September-21 November [1877] (#13565).

2.  [a cousin]
JW's cousins included McNeills, Whistlers and Winans, and one possibility is that this was addressed to someone from the family of William Louis Winans (1823-before 1907), locomotive manufacturer and civil engineer [more], or Thomas De Kay Winans (1820-1878), locomotive engineer and collector [more].

3.  ALf
Only the first page of this letter has been located. It is possible that it was never completed.

4.  Mr & Mrs Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more]; and Emily Winter Rose (b. ca 1825), wife of J. A. Rose [more].

5.  Nellie and the Doctor
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more]; and William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].