The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: McEvoy, Charles A.
Record 16 of 23

System Number: 02010
Date: [5 March 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H111
Document Type: ALS

110. Rue du Bac. Paris -

Monday -

At the time of your last letter - just before, or immediately after - I recieved [sic] a letter from the Bank[3], telling me that I had overdrawn my account -

So you now understand why you heard no more from me - and also you know just where I am! -

I have been enabled to scrape together a few pounds and put them back - that the disaster might be repaired.

But the patience of the Directors must not be too much strained - and each day it is a question of how [p. 2] long? -

It is shocking that the Captain[4] should be tried as he is! - I sympathise with him greatly - for his trouble is my own! a matter of staying! - How long! - and always how long one's health shall last while one is waiting waiting & waiting! -

I send you £5 - I cannot help you further now -

You had better keep your name on the Engineer Institution - I suppose -

J McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


Charles Hanson - Esqr
16. Featherstone Buildings
London. W. C.
[postmark:] PARIS 80 / R. DU BAC / 5E 6 / MARS / 94
[postmark on verso:] REGISTERED / W. C. D. O. / 9 A / MR 7 / 94


1.  [5 March 1894]
Dated from postmark and day of the week.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Bank
Probably Messrs Drummond & Co., London

4.  Captain
Captain Charles A. McEvoy (b. ca 1836), electrical engineer [more].

5.  Recommandé
Underlined three times.