The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Watts, Walter Theodore
Record 13 of 113

System Number: 01743
Date: [January/June 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Edward William Godwin[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler G109
Document Type: ALS

Dear Godwin -

I am so sorry that I cannot have this treat with you all tomorrow, but I am to dine with Allan Cole[3] and go afterwards to the play - So you see the whole building faculty are off on the spree tomorrow! -

You will turn up then on thursday morning at about 11.30 or 12 at latest and perhaps [p. 2] after going over the house come on with me to Watt[4] -

Ever Yours
With kindest regards and many thanks and compliments of the best to Mrs Godwin[5],

J A McN. Whistler

96. Cheyne Walk -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [January/June 1878]
This letter may date from early January 1878 when several letters to A. S. Cole and T. Watts-Dunton mention visits to the Gaiety Theatre (see #09024, #09033, #09575). At the latest, it could date from June when JW moved from 96 Cheyne Walk to the White House.

2.  Edward William Godwin
Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more]. JW's new house and studio, the White House in Tite Street, was designed by Godwin.

3.  Allan Cole
Alan Summerly Cole (1846-1934), textile expert and museum official [more].

4.  Watt
Walter Theodore Watts (later Watts-Dunton) (1832-1914), solicitor, novelist and poet [more].

5.  Mrs Godwin
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].