The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Webb, William
Record 5 of 352

System Number: 01738
Date: [March 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Edward William Godwin[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler G104
Document Type: ALS

Of course you mustn't dream of coming this morning - but if it is fine you might get down here tomorrow at 9.30 - and we will breakfast and bolt over to the house together and arrange so that I can get back to the painting - for things are!!! -

You have got I don't know what notion in your head about your line with Vulliamy[3]! - Of course nothing whatever must be done until the [drawing of roof, a triangle] is up, and then what is done must be done by you - So there is no use [p. 2] sending back messages by John[4] that I am to get the lease or what not!. - Meanwhile I dont think Webb[5] ought to bother the Board either - had not you better write a line and say that quiet and silence are necessary until the alterations now making are complete - You have heard from them -

Saw the doctor[6] yesterday
Says that you and Mrs Godwin[7] are both better -

Kindest regards
Ever Yours

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [March 1878]
Dated by discussion of attempts to get the lease approved by the Metropolitan Board of Works for the White House being built for JW in Tite Street (see #01735, #01736).

2.  Edward William Godwin
Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more].

3.  Vulliamy
George John Vulliamy (1817-1886), Superintending Architect with the Metropolitan Board of Works, London [more].

4.  John
John Cossins, JW's valet [more].

5.  Webb
Either George Webb (b. ca 1835), of G. and W. Webb. lawyer [more], or William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

6.  Doctor
Possibly William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

7.  Mrs Godwin
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].