The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Burton, Mrs Frederick,
Record 1 of 2

System Number: 13338
Date: [1874?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Elfrida Elizabeth Ionides [2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Private Collection
Document Type: ALS

I am perfectly wretched my dear Mrs. Lucas both in mind and body - deaf dumb and blind with a cold - unable to tell the difference between an oyster paté and a gooseberry tart! Fancy that at your table - and I am miserable not to be dining with you - Forgive my not writing sooner - but I fully intended coming up to this last moment - and your kind note[3] only came last night - just as I was [p. 2] wishing to answer Lukes[4].

Will you say many things for me to your guests and will you and Luke persuade them to come with you tomorrow afternoon and drink a cup of tea with this invalid in the studio at about five o'clock -

Pray present my compliments to Mrs. Burton[5] and Miss Bird[6] - I hope they will come - and Irving[7] - my kindest remembrances to him - and of course my love to the Doctor[8] if he is with you -

Ever sincerely yours
with kindest regards

J A McN. Whistler.

[butterfly signature]

Dont trouble about writing a note - its awful! but send a verbal answer that you will come tomorrow -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1874?]
Dated from signature.

2.  Elfrida Elizabeth Ionides
Elfrida Elizabeth Ionides (1848-1929), née Bird, wife of Luke A. Ionides [more].

3.  Lukes
Lucas ('Luke') Alexander Ionides (1837-1924), stockbroker and businessman [more].

4.  note
Not located.

5.  Mrs Burton
Mrs Frederick Burton, unidentified.

6.  Miss Bird
Alice L. Bird (b. ca 1833), sister of Dr George Bird [more].

7.  Irving
John Henry Brodribb alias Henry Irving (1838-1905), actor, Director and manager of the Lyceum Theatre [more].

8.  Doctor
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].