UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Freer, Charles Lang
Record 40 of 374

System Number: 01246
Date: 22 June 1892
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Marcus Bourne Huish[1]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F178
Document Type: ALdS[2]


33. Rue de Tournon. Paris.

Wednesday. June 22. 1892.

Dear Mr Huish -

Kindly then have cheque made out for me for:
£112- 17- 6-
and let Mr Browne[3] bring it with him as he proposes. I have the proofs here and would like to deliver them personally into his hands - or your own - are you not coming to Paris? - that I may point some matters - most important I think, certainly. -

You had better

Of one fact meanwhile I trust you will have no doubt - That is the necessity of at once asking prices for these proofs that shall keep pace with the prices of my own for my works of the present day -

I must I am afraid reserve much, so very busy am I, for another letter - or better still, until I see you or Mr Browne -

[p. 2]   proofs
To be printed, there remain of "The Doorway[4] " .. 16
" " "The Palaces " .. 1.
  The "Beggars " ..39
    56

 

When I have the chance, and am properly set up in my studio here, I will complete the number - - Meanwhile nurse what you have - Sell only two or three proofs at fifteen or sixteen guineas, and begin to ask at once 20 guineas a piece -

I have told everyone that of course that would be the price - -

Be in no hurry - and I will really have given you a fortune - All collectors will be obliged to have these proofs - this is what you & Mr Browne had no idea of - but look at Mr Mansfield[5] -

He said to me directly he saw them - "Of course I will have[6] to have these! - notwithstanding that I have already [the] collection"! -

Also Mr Freer[7] of Detroit and others . . they will all require them -

The Exhibition[8] of the proofs here will have [p. 3] been greatly to the good - -

Also I have printed a proof extra of each for the British Museum - as I announced - and one of most of the very important ones to present to the Librairie Nationale here - and to Spain - & Italy - & Vienna -

All of which will give your "last states" an enormous éclat[9] - and you can dole out, with care, your few proofs at 20, 25 and 30 guineas apiece - as time goes on -

Very faithfully

J McN. Whistler

Let me know if you can by return if I am to expect you or Mr Browne - or if neither of you can come, what you propose -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Marcus Bourne Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

2.  ALdS
There is a rough draft of this letter at #01245.

3.  Mr Browne
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more]. JW mis-spells his name throughout.

4.  The Doorway
The Palaces (K.187), The Doorway (K.188) and The Beggars (K.194), from Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5).

5.  Mr Mansfield
Howard Mansfield (1849-1938), New York lawyer, print collector [more].

6.  have
Double underlined.

7.  Mr Freer
Charles Lang Freer (1856-1919), industrialist, collector and founder of the Freer Gallery of Art [more].

8.  Exhibition
At the 2nd Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1892.

9.  éclat
Fr., splendour, brilliance.