UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Morris, William
Record 1 of 11

System Number: 11492
Date: 14 November [1868?][1]
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Recipient: Walter Greaves
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 9/637
Document Type: TLc


Dear Mr Walter Greaves,

Can you tell me if I am right in thinking the number and street of Mr Morris[3] studio correct 8 Queens Road?

A letter has been sent here for the direction of Mary Lewis[4] by some artist who wishes to engage her as a model, and I do not know it, but Mr Morris probably does, as he has her sister as a model sometimes, and I must I suppose send the bearer of this note to his Studio to get it. Jean[5] is a stranger and requires to be told exactly where Mr Morris' place is.

Yours in haste and very truly your friend,

[Signed:] A. M. WHISTLER.

Saturday, Nov. 14th.

I am confined to my room for a cold.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  14 November [1868?]
AMW lived in London between 1864 and 1875. 14 November was a Saturday in 1868, and also in 1874, but the earlier date may be more likely.

2.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

3.  Mr Morris
Probably William Morris (1834-1896), painter, designer, poet and socialist [more].

4.  Mary Lewis
Mary Lewis, a model.

5.  Jean
Unidentified.