The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Deschamps, Charles William
Record 5 of 54

System Number: 11438
Date: [20 December 1872][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Charles William Deschamps[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/22
Document Type: ALS


[embossed:] THE ARTS CLUB

Friday night

My dear Deschamps -

I wonder if you could come down to me tomorrow - if not too much engaged - some where about half past two or three - I am off on Monday morning early - to be away for a week or ten days - and should like to see you before I leave - not anything very particular - [p. 2] but still perhaps a thing or two to say that one might remember in talking but that one can hardly think of in writing.

Also I am finishing a screen[4] that I will only have this chance of showing you - and I have an idea that "something is to be done" - about which we might 'dodge a means' - etc. - ! However come and see - Also [p. 3] if it so 'arranges itself' bring the foreign swell[5] - If it be more convenient - look in on Sunday morning at about one o'clock - but as I tell you, Monday morning I am off -

Come tomorrow though if you can -

Sincerely yours

J A McN Whistler.

2 Lindsey Houses.
Chelsea -

Could you possibly have a proof from Parsons[6] to bring with you? -

This document is protected by copyright.


C. Deschamps, Esq.
Society of French Artists
168, New Bond Street
London -

[butterfly signature]

[postmark:] LONDON W / 07 / DE 21 / 72


1.  [20 December 1872]
Written late at night; the postmark has the next day's date.

2.  Charles William Deschamps
Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

3.  3
Written in top right corner in an unknown hand. This is the third of three letters JW had recently written to Deschamps (#07905, #07906).

4.  screen
Blue and Silver: Screen, with Old Battersea Bridge (YMSM 139).

5.  foreign swell

6.  proof from Parsons
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101) was photographed by John Robert Parsons (ca 1826 - d.1909), painter, photographer, and art dealer [more], late in 1872 (see #11974).