The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Pattison, Jane
Record 6 of 9

System Number: 11010
Date: [August 1882][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Jane Pattison[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Private and Restricted Collection
Document Type: ALS

I am going out of town this very Sunday as ever is dear Mrs Pattison - so that for my sins I may not have the delight of seeing you and meeting your sister[3] - tant pis[4]! -

I am so sorry - However ce n'est que remis[5] I hope - and I shall send Renny[6] round to persuade you some afternoon to come and take tea in the Studio -

Meanwhile Always most sincerely

J McN. Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [August 1882]
Dated in sale catalogue, Maggs, London, October 1912, lot no. 3699, £125. This is one of several documents bound in an album with a drawing Whistler with his friend Mrs Patterson (M.872). It is possible that an envelope bound in the same album, and postmarked 7 August 1882, belongs with this letter (#11007).

2.  Jane Pattison
Mrs Jane Patisson, a social acquaintance who posed for JW [more]. There are several similar letters to Mrs Pattison, including one dated 26 July 1882 (#11011).

3.  your sister
Not identified.

4.  tant pis
Fr., too bad.

5.  ce n'est que remis
Fr., this is only postponed.

6.  Renny
Possibly James Rennell Rodd (1858-1941), 1st Baron Rennell, poet and diplomat [more].