The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, Helen
Record 19 of 149

System Number: 10898
Date: [July 1881/1888?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 19/1826-27
Document Type: TLc


Dear Nellie, -

I may not see you tomorrow morning before I leave - indeed of course I shall not. So don't forget first that I shall certainly expect you both for 12 o'clock - on Sunday.

Don't forget also my little yellow sachi bottles[3] also some tea spoons - also if not too great a bore some half dozen simple tea cups - that will be quite enough -

One cake is quite as much as I deserve and more than I expected - I am sure there will be too much to eat!

I went down to Smiths Hotel but as you said they had all gone to bed - and Tom[4] was out dining in some Club where I could not follow him - the Devonshire[5] I think - but of course I couldn't have him out at that hour - and for once you can see I was not dressed and consequently could not go in upon the company -

So Willie[6] must tell him how sorry I was - and he must say goodbye for me -

[p. 2] Don't you think you might also lend me one of your large Japanese trays?

Always yours,

J. McN. Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [July 1881/1888?]
Dated from recipient and address. The reference to cake suggests that this letter might have been written around the time of JW's birthday on 11 July.

2.  Helen E. Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  sachi bottles
Bottles for saki. JW collected oriental porcelain including saki bottles.

4.  Tom
Possibly Thomas Delano Whistler (1857-1921), engineer, JW's nephew [more].

5.  Devonshire
The Devonshire was a gentleman's club at 50 St James's Street.

6.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].