The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, William
Record 4 of 16

System Number: 10897
Date: [16/17 June 1883][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 19/1822
Document Type: TsLc[3]

'My dear' as Mrs. Duncan Stewart[4] would say, you know it is impossible for me ever to be sure of any arrangement - but I did tell you the other day that to my regret I could not manage the dinner at the hospital. It would have been quite nice and jolly at the table with Willie[5], and Walter Winans[6] - but I have to go to Madam du Quaire[7] on pain of I don't know what -

Any how behold enclosed cheque for guinea with regrets - of course -

Always affentionately

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [16/17 June 1883]
Dated from reference to dinner and du Quaire, mentioned in another letter to Helen Whistler dated 14 June 1883, #06702.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  TsLc
The typescript copy made by or for the Pennells contains several manuscript corrections in an unknown hand. The original has not been located.

4.  Mrs. Duncan Stewart
Florence Stewart (b. ca 1846), wife of the barrister Duncan Stewart [more].

5.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

6.  Walter Winans
Probably Walter Scott Winans (1840-1928), civil engineer [more].

7.  Madam du Quaire
Fanny M. Du Quaire, collector, a social acquaintance of JW [more].