The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to surnames beginning with ''

Catherine Sarah Huish, 1853-??

Nationality: English
Date of Birth: 1853
Place of Birth: Regents Park, London
Date of Death:
Place of Death:


Catherine Sarah Huish was born in Marylebone, London in 1853. She was the eldest daughter of T.E Winslow, QC. Mrs Catheirne Huish lived in Kensington, London with her husband Marcus Bourne Huish. Marcus and Catherine had one daughter, Margaret Dorothy Huish, who was born in 1879. The date of Catherine's death is unknown.


Catherine's husband was an art dealer and a writer and also the director of the Fine Art Society between 1879 and 1911. Marcus Bourne Huish was also the editor of the Art Journal from 1881 to 1893. Huish published several bookson art including Japan and Art and His Majesty's Watercolours.

A letter dating from either 20 or 27 February 1883 was sent by JWto Catherine, possibly when she was in Italy. The purpose of JW'sletter was to thank Catherine for her flowers, which he described as pretty, and took to be a 'most graceful hint at sympathy with Arrangement in Yellow' (his yellow and white colour scheme for an exhibition at The Fine Art SOciety). Alongside the letter JW had sent Catherine Huish a small butterfly made from either silk or paper similar to those he had previously distributed amongst his friends at the private view on 17 February.


UK census 1881 from (accessed 2004); Who was who: a companion to Who's who, Vol. 1, 1897/1915, London, 1920-21.